Problem with Ram speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2011, 06:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 148
Default Problem with Ram speed

I have a little problem.
I have 16GB ram @ 1600 mhz: Scan.co.uk: Corsair Memory Vengeance Blue 16GB DDR3 1600 MHz CAS 9 XMP Dual Channel Desktop - CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9B
Motherboard: Scan.co.uk: Asus P8P67 Pro Rev3 Intel P67 Express Socket 1155 Motherboard - P8P67 PRO <Rev.3.0>

Ok so heres the problem im having:
The first time i installed my ram it showed it as 16gb @ 1333mhz.. i then changed them around and it showed as 16gb @ 1600mhz. (it didnt have any a or b on the ram so i didnt know which ram slot they went in)

I then reinstalled the OS and the ram has gone back down to 1333mhz though i havent swapped them around at all.

Does any one know why?

Thanks!
__________________

_SomeOne_ is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 06:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Problem with Ram speed

It sounds like your memory controller doesn't like running at 1600 MHz at the stock settings so the bios is resetting itself, 1333 is the default value. A 4GB module is more stressful on the memory controller than a 2GB module. With 8GB (2x4GB) your using 1 memory slot per memory channel, with 16GB (4x4GB) your using 2 memory slots per channel. 2 memory slots per channel is more stressful on the memory controller than 1 memory slot per channel. So basically your stressing the memory controller 3 ways. Your using all 4 slots, your using 4GB modules and your running at 1600 MHz instead of 1333 MHz

I suggest you go into the bios and manually set the speed and latencies, set the DRAM Voltage to 1.5v and change the VCCIO Voltage to 1.15v, if it still gives you problems try raising the VCCIO Voltage another notch higher but I would keep it below 1.2v
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 07:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 148
Default Re: Problem with Ram speed

So what do you suggest? run at 1333 or 1600? I would rather have it at 1600mhz.. thats why i bought it.. but if its gonna harm my computer then i will leave it at 1333mhz.
_SomeOne_ is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 07:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Problem with Ram speed

I would try the settings I suggested. Download RealTemp and see what your temperatures are doing. Are you using the stock heatsink or did you buy an aftermarket heatsink? The increase in the VCCIO Voltage will cause the cpu to run a "little" hotter but nothing dramatic.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 07:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 148
Default Re: Problem with Ram speed

Im using this one Scan.co.uk: Noctua NH-U12P-SE2 CPU Cooler NH-U12P

Also.. im under "Ai Tweaker\ DRAM Timing Control > then there are loads of things there.. i cant find anything to do with voltage
Also all of them just say "Auto"

I can type them all out if you want
edit: im gonna take a picture of it
_SomeOne_ is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 07:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Problem with Ram speed

The Voltages are on the main Ai Tweaker page, scroll down. You also need to set the Memory Frequency to DDR3-1600MHz, this is also located on the main Ai Tweaker page

The latency setting are on the DRAM Timing Control page, at the top you'll see "Primary Timings", change them to 9-9-9-24-2T in that order.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 07:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 148
Default Re: Problem with Ram speed

Alright ill try that.. but here are the screen shots anyway.
https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/Publi...jpg?w=bb369fab
https://dl-web.dropbox.com/get/Publi...jpg?w=774db654
_SomeOne_ is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 07:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 148
Default Re: Problem with Ram speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
The Voltages are on the main Ai Tweaker page, scroll down. You also need to set the Memory Frequency to DDR3-1600MHz, this is also located on the main Ai Tweaker page

The latency setting are on the DRAM Timing Control page, at the top you'll see "Primary Timings", change them to 9-9-9-24-2T in that order.
Alright, iv done the Primary Timings (i couldnt set the last one to 2T.. just 1 2 and 3.. i picked 2)
Iv done the voltages, DRAM and VCCIO.
But i cant find the Memory Frequency. Iv scrolled right to the bottom and cant see it. does it have a short name?
_SomeOne_ is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 08:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 148
Default Re: Problem with Ram speed

wow.. im really sorry >.<
It was right at the top... cant believe i missed it.
Should i enable "EPU Power Saving Mode" ?
_SomeOne_ is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 08:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Problem with Ram speed

I have it enabled
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSU fan speed problem catax Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-04-2009 01:54 AM
Problem with Wireless Speed chundr Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 02-28-2006 09:20 PM
Checking Internet Speed/ Download Speed/ Upload Speed JLKRMetallica Internet Software and Browsers 2 01-31-2006 01:34 AM
CPU speed problem lespaul5895 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-08-2005 02:30 AM
CPU clock speed problem MEK4178 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 07-29-2004 07:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.