Problem with processor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2005, 10:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Default Problem with processor?

For reference, I have a Dell Dimension 4400. Yesterday, I was working in Microsoft Word. I was saving to the A drive on a 3.5" floppy. After about 2 hours of work, I got an error message saying that Windows Explorer had to shut down and restart. It automatically did this and successfully rebooted Windows. All of my initial applications loaded fine. After about a minute, Windows gave me a message saying that the system has recovered from a serious error. Apparently, there was a problem with the explorer.exe in the Temp folder. After I saw this message, Windows gave me another error stating that it had to shut down and restart again. This cycle continued until I decided to totally shut down windows. When I turned the power back on, my computer froze at the back Windows welcome screen. I did this about 3 or 4 times. To me, this seemed like a software problem. So I turned off the computer again and let it sit for awhile. When I tried turning it back on, the pc beeped and the moniter alerted me that there was no signal from the computer. Now this seemed like a hardware problem because I couldn't even boot up the computer. I finally called Dell. They took me through a step by step process, trying to deduce the problem. At first they thought it was the memory. I have two memory sticks, and we tried taking one out, then the other, and so forth. The technician on the other line seemed to think that there were no problems with the memory. She said it was a problem with the processor and that I need to have it replaced. Before I spend 200 bucks on a processor, can anyone verify this problem?? Would the error messages Windows gave me be related to this hardware malfunction, or is this a different problem altogether?? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
__________________

Djchrisz84 is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 02:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

If your CPUs buggered Windows won't get a chance to complain.

If you've got a windows disc try booting from that to determine if its a software OS fault or not. (ie if it boots your PC is fine, except possibly for a HDD sector but we can explore that fun option later).

NB, Please remember than Dell are f**ktards, the lady you spoke to will only have a computer screen offering her suggestions and will not infact be an expert on the system you are using.
__________________

__________________
jono199 is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Now we have 2 djchris-es?
Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.