Problem with PC startup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2006, 05:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 129
Default Problem with PC startup

Ok here's the scoop.

I have had my pc for about a month now, it was custom built with brand new products. It was running fine every day until today. I went to school and left my twin here at home. He was just burning a CD off of my pc since he didnt have one. I left for school and just said do not do anything but burn the cd. Well I got home from school and I started up my pc. I expected to see the usual,"please select a boot device from the boot manager"(or something like that) Instead I saw the screen that says" We are sorry for the inconvenience but windows did not start up correctly" and showed all the usual start windows in normal mode, safe mode, safe mode with networking, and start windows with last used best config. Well i did the normal windows and it looked like it was just restarting but then it just went right back to that screen. Then i tried a different one and it still didnt work. It keeps doing the same thing. I left my brother in there for 5 mins and he did something but he just said he didnt do anything.

Well I am guessing there is something he screwed up with in windows and i am extremely angry because i just bought this computer for about a grand and i got the money from 3 years of a paper route. Plz tell me how to fix it, anything that will make it run like it used to. All help would be appriciated !!!!!
__________________

Eaglez is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 05:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
TechyBurst
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: yucca valley, California
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to Dr.Gootch Send a message via MSN to Dr.Gootch
Default

Sounds like he dident shut it down via start - shutdown, he just turned it off. And prolly did it with programs running. Have u tried boot with last known configuration? What about safe mode? If none of the options work then im sadly gonna have to say u might wanna try a new install of windows.
__________________

__________________
Rebuilding in progress... Pending Specs....

Yours Truly,
Dr.Gootch
Dr.Gootch is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 05:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 129
Default

Yep tried with all of them, thanks for the help. I am going to go kill my brother now.
Eaglez is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 05:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
TechyBurst
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: yucca valley, California
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to Dr.Gootch Send a message via MSN to Dr.Gootch
Default

lol, just install XP i think u can without wiping ur programs. Just install XP itself. a Recovery i believe.
__________________
Rebuilding in progress... Pending Specs....

Yours Truly,
Dr.Gootch
Dr.Gootch is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 05:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 129
Default

How can you do that when i cant even get to a startup screen?
Eaglez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.