problem-not sure where2put this - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2008, 02:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default problem-not sure where2put this

sorry if this is posted in the wrong place?

hi im new and in no way good with computers
however i have a little problem and need some help :/
this is legitimate though it might not seem it.
besically I have user accounts on my computer. when i reset my computer i reset it to a time before i had my account. now when i try and access my documents it says that im not that person. VERY ANNOYING!!! its not at start up so it doesnt allow me to enter the password or ask me for it. iv tried it in safe mode and it denies me. not sure why i thought that might work?
iv recreated my account with the same password but it still denies me.
i even had a go through comand prompt and it wouldnt let me in.

so (and imagine me on my knees sobbing) doe anybody know the **** i get in my own damned documents. lol.
__________________

loopy111 is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 08:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: problem-not sure where2put this

Log in as an admin account and you should be able to access them.
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 09:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: problem-not sure where2put this

have you looked at c:\documents and settings\"YOUR OLD USER NAME" there could be a couple different ones based on your name since you created a new one. Then you can look at my documents in there to locate your old files. Have you done a search for an old file you know the exact name of?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 02:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: problem-not sure where2put this

Are the documents from another computer? Or jsut from the other account? If they are from the other account you dont have the permissions necessary to view or edit them. Have to get into the Admin account and give yourself permissions.

http://www.techist.com/forums/f9/how...-vista-155100/

That is for Vista. Just google around if you are on XP. As it is something similar.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 12:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default

first of all thanx. yes its an account on the same computer and it wont let me into the folders under the old name. thanx for ur suggestions. keep em coming tho. lol. the problem is the admin cant give me access over an account that no longer exists. why it remmbers it enough to say i dont have access is beyond me. maybe i could do something through the registry if anyone knows how? iv got most of the documents off using a undelete program but now i hav two of everything. i just wnt to be able to access or delete the folder :/ anyone?

oh and also the takeown command doesnt work on my cmd? i think its coz i got the windows media edition. my current account is set as administrator so surely i should be able to access the folder anyway? maybe something went wrong when it was set back to before the account existed and theres simply no hope at all
loopy111 is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 01:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: problem-not sure where2put this

You will most likely have to use a Linux LiveCD like Ubuntu. There is no reason for hte problem you are having and no real explination on how to fix it.

The takedown command should work. Media Edition? That is just a part of Windows. Windows XP MCE is just Windows XP Pro with Media Center. Vista editions Home Premium and Ultimate have it as well.

But you should still be able to do the commands easily. Are you sure your account has admin rights? Cause there is no reason why you cant sue that command.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 12:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: problem-not sure where2put this

yea i do hav admin rights. dont know why it wont accept it then. says it doesn't recognise the command. il try that linux thing tho. thanx for the help . think my computers just screwed up the folder a little when it was put back.
__________________

loopy111 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem installing software in windows xp pro imagesmith Microsoft Windows and Software 3 02-20-2008 02:46 PM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Wireless Problem! dropper Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 07-08-2007 04:58 PM
Dhcp leasing problem Kloppstock Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 05-13-2007 07:13 PM
cant find the problem... Jhill1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-07-2007 04:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.