Problem with new build on start up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2009, 01:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10
Default Problem with new build on start up

At first I plugged everything in like a noob would, and when I turned it on, there was no activity, and something blew and magic smoke rose. Everything was closed so I couldn't tell where it came from. I can only say that it rose from the top fan, and rose right after it blew, so it looked like it came from the fan, but it probably didn't.

mobo
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD4P LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

cpu
Newegg.com - Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

case
Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER HAF 932 RC-932-KKN1-GP Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Computer Cases

psu
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies

ok, here's what I have:

upon inspection, no one part shows any signs of dmg (no burn mark, etc) the motherboard and cpu both look fine.

after that I started over and plugged only these in:

connected:
12 v
power connector
fans

The motherboard, psu, and cpu are mounted on the case.

the results:

No activity, no noise (no fan activity)
power light lights up on motherboard, and a distinct smell begins to appear. I turn it off before it gets worse.

With a tech friend on the line, he helped me through it so I didn't make any mistakes. He thinks that its either the motherboard or the psu. The motherboard seems to be getting power, ie the blue power led turns on, but doesn't seem to be supplying power to the rest. Hes on the line, and cant see himself, so he wants a second opinion before he stars advising what to send back, what do you guys think?
__________________

rainbrain is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 01:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Problem with new build on start up

Sounds like the power supply to me, could be the mobo too but less likely. So in essence I agree with your friend's troubleshoot
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 01:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Problem with new build on start up

Sounds like a blown PSU to me. There's not much else in the case that would randomly smoke right away. Weird that a Corsair would blow like that, but they aren't completely devoid of manufacturer's defects I suppose.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 03:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Problem with new build on start up

If you have a multimeter you can test the psu.
Driverheaven Guides: testing your psu with a multimeter


If you do not and have a friend that could lone you one you can try that as well.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 11:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Problem with new build on start up

According to corsair's 'paperclip test' (Welcome to Corsair :: Tech Support Express) The PSU works fine.

the power supply was connected to the wall, and only a fan and HDD were connected to the PSU. With the paperclip, the fan spun and the HDD activated.

Here's an update:

After testing the PSU, I connected the 24 pin connector to the motherboard, and omfg it worked! (many lights turned on and it beeped angrily at me.) That is until I unplugged and tried again. Nothing burns anymore, but it doesn't work. The blue power LEDs turns on, yellow light next to it turns on for a second. If I press the blue power light, the yellow light comes back on, and nothing happens. O, and the red voltage light comes on for a split second when I flip the power on too.

A different friend keeps saying, are you sure the psu and mobo are compatible?? (he knows about as much I do, but he was able to succ. put together his first build xD ) I'm pretty sure they are, you guys agree right? ( links at top )

Anyways, it looks like the mobo is defective.
rainbrain is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 12:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: Problem with new build on start up

You can't really have a PSU that isn't compatible with a motherboard. PSUs are basically universal. So nothing occurs when you turn on your computer? Nothing turns on on the screen or beeps? I think you might have a defective motherboard. Also, make sure that your board isn't being grounded by a metal part of the case.
__________________
||Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.4 GHz (OC coming soon) || Biostar TP45HP || 4GB Kingston DDR2 667 RAM ||
Sapphire HD 4670 512mb @778/1140 || Antec Trio 650w || Maxtor 250gb 7200 RPM HDD || Lite-On DVD-RW || Black Aluminum Case||
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 12:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Problem with new build on start up

Just as a double check here.

You do have both the 24pin and the extra 4or8pin connectors into the motherboard correct?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 02:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Problem with new build on start up

of course.
__________________

rainbrain is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with build swla90 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-09-2009 06:40 PM
Windows 7 Milestone 3 Build 6801 Review KSoD Official TF Reviews 114 01-08-2009 12:07 AM
New Build Problem please help. JumaadJ System Upgrades 2 11-21-2008 01:40 PM
Computer build problem.. Jawnskeel System Upgrades 22 08-26-2008 01:04 AM
Recent Problem With My Build...Crash & Restart...Help! Irish Pilot Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 17 07-13-2008 10:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.