Problem with my Video Card. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2006, 02:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Unhappy Problem with my Video Card.

Hi.

I recently purchased a BFG 7600GS OC 512DDR2 card. However I am having trouble getting my system to detect the card.

I removed my old card which was an ATI x1600, and re-formatted. Yet Windows XP will not detect it. I have checked and double checked to see if it is plugged in correctly, which it is. When I plug in my old card , it will detect automatically. It says the minimum power supply needed is 350w though I have a 400, so I dont think thats the problem.

My system meets the requirements to run this type of card.

Any help would be much appreciated.
__________________

Beau24 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 02:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

If you have an agp card, I think it will require external power from the power supply.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 02:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Yes it does, the external power cable is plugged into it. If it means anything, the fan is spinning and it seems to be running fine.
Beau24 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 02:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Can you even see anything on your monitor or it just won't show up when windows load up?
brinks is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 02:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Default

No, when my video cable is plugged into the card, the monitor stays on standby. When I take my cable and plug it back into my motherboard the display comes up.
Beau24 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 02:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

It sounds like you also have integrated video, try disableing it from the bios and then try out your video card.

Might be a conflict between the two.
brinks is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 03:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Hmm I cant seem to find any sort of option in my BIOS to disable any type of Intergrated or Onboard Graphics.

Personally I am out of ideas.
Beau24 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 03:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Does your power supply have enough amps on the 12V rail?
It says:

"A minimum 350W system power supply (with 12V current rating of 20A or more)"
brinks is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 03:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Hmm ok, the side of my power supply says:

Output:400W

+12V 17A MAX.

Could this be the problem?
Beau24 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 03:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to fatrix
Default

hmmm.. there is option in bios Onboard grphics.. DISABLE THAT..also DECREASE UR ONBOADGRAPHIC
__________________

fatrix is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.