Problem with my Souncard - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2007, 11:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8
Default

did the windows update, that dint help either.


Roshan
__________________

Roshanpicardo is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 11:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 72
Default

Oh okay, my last idea was that you move it into a different PCI slot? Fingers crossed!
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://www.flashyflashy.net" target="_blank">flashyflashy.net</a>
darkninja is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 12:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 27
Default

Sounds like the port is dirty. Can you take it out and install it in your friends comp or an extra one. See if you get the same distortion, If so the card got damaged in the move.
kyoji is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 01:05 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8
Default

yea, i guess thats the only option left...will probably scrap this mobo and pick up another....or i could try it out on my old mobo and see if it works....i'm not sure if its a conflict prob btw my current mobo and the sound card.... i have an asus a8v -vm mobo and an audigy 2 value card....has any one eva heard of this this kind of a prob before?
Roshanpicardo is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 01:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8
Default

plus what does a dirty port mean?
Roshanpicardo is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 02:49 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 72
Default

It means that the thin hole that you slide the card into on the motherboard (I'm referring to the port) is dirty and you should probably clean it, generally its just dust and stuff so just blow it, as for the contacts on the card, you can generally just wipe it with a dry, clean cloth, not sure if thats the best method, but it should work ok
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://www.flashyflashy.net" target="_blank">flashyflashy.net</a>
darkninja is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.