Problem with monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2011, 02:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Default Problem with monitor

I am having a new problem, I disconnected a VGA cable from a Windows 7 computer to use on an XP computer, when I connected the VGA cable back to the Windows 7 computer it wouldn't recognize it. I did connect a DVI cable to the Windows 7 computer temporarily, now I have to use the DVI cable from my XP computer to use the Windows 7 computer. I need to know how to get the Windows 7 computer to recognize the VGA cable again. I know the cable is good it worked fine before disconnecting. I wanted to use it to connect the XP computer to my TV but it didn't work. I am tech savvy, but this is throwing me off. The Windows 7 computer stats are 7 Home 64 bit, 4 GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD 5570 graphics card. I have been searching for the answer for hours to no avail, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Batman94
__________________

batman94 is offline  
Old 01-09-2011, 02:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Problem with monitor

Are you sure the monitor is set to VGA? Why not just use DVI?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-10-2011, 09:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digerati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 239
Default Re: Problem with monitor

Monitor cables are not "hot swappable". Did you power off before disconnecting and connecting? Did you reboot after reconnecting?
Quote:
I know the cable is good it worked fine before disconnecting.
Have you inspected the cable for bent pins? Did you try it again on the 2nd monitor?
Digerati is offline  
Old 01-10-2011, 06:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: Problem with monitor

Yes I tried changing the monitor to VGA, and I rebooted the machines. I am assuming I am just gonna have to buy another DVI cable, which I didnt want to do. But unless I can figure out why the machines are not recognizing the VGA cable I cant get a picture on my TV screen. Any more help would be appreciated.
batman94 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitor went black. Monitor itself isn't the problem. subway42 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-16-2009 10:07 PM
Odd problem, nothing on the monitor. Toryn Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 06-29-2008 11:00 PM
Problem with monitor m6qrp Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-21-2007 12:03 PM
monitor problem gimli of gloin Off Topic Discussion 4 09-10-2005 09:05 AM
New Monitor Problem Guapo Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 11-03-2003 11:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.