Problem with ingame ping - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2010, 12:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 16
Default Problem with ingame ping

First, my specs.

AMD Sempron 140 2.7GHz CPU
Razer DeathAdder
Steelseries 5H V2 Headset
Geforce GT220
Cooler Master 460W PSU
WD Caviar Green 500GB 32MB Cache
Gigabyte GA-M68M-S2P motherboard
2GB DDR2 800mhz RAM

My ping in games jumped up about 30-60 and more when something happens ingame.

This started after I put my video card in.

Someone want to tell me what's up and how to fix it?
__________________

joujou is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 01:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Problem with ingame ping

First off, what game and how do you know your ping is jumping? Lag may or may not be caused by ping... it could be your CPU or GFX card struggling to keep up.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 01:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 16
Default Re: Problem with ingame ping

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
First off, what game and how do you know your ping is jumping? Lag may or may not be caused by ping... it could be your CPU or GFX card struggling to keep up.
Left 4 Dead
joujou is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 02:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Problem with ingame ping

ping as in your connection speed/location number? or is it lagging and your talking about frames per second or how smoothly the game plays? seems to me your cpu would be the biggest bottleneck.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 03:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 16
Default Re: Problem with ingame ping

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmammen View Post
ping as in your connection speed/location number? or is it lagging and your talking about frames per second or how smoothly the game plays? seems to me your cpu would be the biggest bottleneck.
Ping as in.. This

Image - TinyPic - Free Image Hosting, Photo Sharing & Video Hosting

(Ingame shot)

Ping in specific servers are higher than they usually are, but not high enough that someone is DLing.

I even tested that by unplugging all connections except my own.
joujou is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 08:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Problem with ingame ping

ok i get ya. well you say it was fine before? actually has nothing to do with your gpu, ping refers to connection speed/how much bandwith is used and how far away you are from the host. If its super high in all games and alot of servers i would say you have a problem with your internet connection/modem/router/wireless/ISP etc..... if its only like that in one game and a few servers, try finding dif servers. Also, are you running any other programs or doing any DLin or UPling while playing?

By the way i noticed from your screen shot, underneath your ping, you are only getting 13.9 kps/sec IN which is ultra slow. Do you use a cable modem? wireless etc?
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 09:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 16
Default Re: Problem with ingame ping

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmammen View Post
ok i get ya. well you say it was fine before? actually has nothing to do with your gpu, ping refers to connection speed/how much bandwith is used and how far away you are from the host. If its super high in all games and alot of servers i would say you have a problem with your internet connection/modem/router/wireless/ISP etc..... if its only like that in one game and a few servers, try finding dif servers. Also, are you running any other programs or doing any DLin or UPling while playing?

By the way i noticed from your screen shot, underneath your ping, you are only getting 13.9 kps/sec IN which is ultra slow. Do you use a cable modem? wireless etc?
Ethernet hub and.. Surfboard Digital Voice Modem

Whatever that is. Dad hooked all this up. We're running 3 computers. I unplugged the other two to check to see if that was slowing me down.

And I played on the same servers over and over. Ping wasn't this high before I put my card in.
joujou is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 09:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Problem with ingame ping

What OS are you running? And what is your usual ISP connection speed? But before anything, check and DL any updates for your OS and motherboard chipset/gpu etc.... Next, Check in game settings on LFD2 for multiplayer and network. Also download latest punkbuster drivers.

Also if you could run this for me and post a screenshot here so we can see what your connection speed is-

http://www.speedtest.net/

Next(if still problem)

Contact your isp it has nothing to do with your GPU, also lemme guess its a motorola surfboard yes? That would be problem number one, they are absolute **** and have been known to be inconsistent especially with multiple computers on its network.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 11:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 16
Default Re: Problem with ingame ping

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmammen View Post
What OS are you running? And what is your usual ISP connection speed? But before anything, check and DL any updates for your OS and motherboard chipset/gpu etc.... Next, Check in game settings on LFD2 for multiplayer and network. Also download latest punkbuster drivers.

Also if you could run this for me and post a screenshot here so we can see what your connection speed is-

Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test

Next(if still problem)

Contact your isp it has nothing to do with your GPU, also lemme guess its a motorola surfboard yes? That would be problem number one, they are absolute **** and have been known to be inconsistent especially with multiple computers on its network.
I'm running Win7 Ultimate. Don't know what usual is. Just know that the night before I put my card in I had no connection issues.

Speedtest results:

joujou is offline  
Old 07-25-2010, 11:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Problem with ingame ping

Seems to look alright.
Have you tried any of my other options yet?

Maybe you could see if theres an update for LFD2? or reinstall the game?
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having a strange problem NexDeus Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-20-2009 01:20 PM
Hard to diagnose internet problem theorigamist Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 02-18-2009 12:32 AM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Dhcp leasing problem Kloppstock Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 05-13-2007 07:13 PM
cant find the problem... Jhill1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-07-2007 04:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.