Problem having HDD and CD drive on same IDE cable? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2008, 05:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to dominican2589
Default Problem having HDD and CD drive on same IDE cable?

My computer has two IDE cable which was split between one for 2 harddrive and 1 for 2 CD/DVD drives. I want to add another harddrive and can do without having both CD/DVD drives. Is it ok for me to set the harddrive as a master and one of the CD/DVD drives as a slave on the same cable?
__________________

dominican2589 is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 08:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Problem having HDD and CD drive on same IDE cable?

Yes, you can. But make sure the hard drive is on the end and not the middle.

Alternatively, if you were to use a Cable Select cable, it wouldn't matter which one was on the end and middle. The cable select feature would do the selecting. Since you are using IDE cables, then you can do it the way you said.
__________________

oldskool is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 09:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Problem having HDD and CD drive on same IDE cable?

If you already have 4 devices hooked up to your IDE cables then no. IDE can only handle a maximum of 2 devices per cable.

So unless you have SATA or wish to as a expansion card for IDE or SATA then no you can not add another hard drive.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 09:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default

I thought he was implying that he would take one CDRom drive out and replace it with a HDD.

This is why I thought that, Mak.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominican2589 View Post
I want to add another harddrive and can do without having both CD/DVD drives. Is it ok for me to set the harddrive as a master and one of the CD/DVD drives as a slave on the same cable?
oldskool is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 10:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Problem having HDD and CD drive on same IDE cable?

If he got rid of 1 then yes. Just replace the master on the 2nd channel.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 11:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to dominican2589
Default Re: Problem having HDD and CD drive on same IDE cable?

So I cannot have the hdd in the middle even with setting the jumper to as master and the CD/DVD drive jumper as salve? Because of the way my case is, my hdd would have to go under my CD/DVD drive and then the IDE cables, the end one would have to go into the CD/DVD drive and then the middle to the harddrive.
dominican2589 is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 11:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Problem having HDD and CD drive on same IDE cable?

As i said if you remove a Optical drive it can be done. But if you want to do it with keeping both Optical Drives then you can not.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 12:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Problem having HDD and CD drive on same IDE cable?

Moot point, but you should avoid putting a CD drive on the same IDE cable as a hard drive. It isn't going to break anything, just make your hard drive a bit slower.

As Mak said you will have to take one CD drive off. There are two ways of doing this. If you have both drives on the same cable ensure both jumpers are set to cable select and put the hard drive at the end of the chain and the CD drive in the middle. The other way (and probably the sure-fire way of getting this to work AND being able to have the hard drive at hte bottom and the CD drive at the top where most people have their case configured) is to set the jumpers, HD set as master and put it in the middle of the chain then set the CD as slave and put it at the end.

Sorry, probably WAY over explained that.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 01:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Problem having HDD and CD drive on same IDE cable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldskool View Post
Yes, you can. But make sure the hard drive is on the end and not the middle.
*NOTE: I was thinking of an 80-wire cable, not a 40-wire. I had to go look this up. Man, I thought I was crazy for thinking the hard drive went on the end and then Lex posted that the hdd goes in the middle.
oldskool is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 11:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to dominican2589
Default Re: Problem having HDD and CD drive on same IDE cable?

Lex, not over explained. actually very helpful explanation. thanks everyone
__________________

dominican2589 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.