problem with hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2006, 05:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default problem with hard drive


I have got two hard drives both on the same IDE cable(one a master and the scond one obviously a slave).

sometimes when i bootup the slave is not visible in windows explorer, please help me

the primary drive is a 80 gig maxtor
the secondary is a 160 gig western digital

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 05:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102

Swap out the 80 wire IDE (I hope you are using an 80 wire IDE cable!!). sound to me like the IDE cable is fobarred. Does the bios find both the drives everytime? Try booting into the bios at POST and see if the two IDE hd's are always recognized. The cable swap first, Bios reset will be next (pulling out the Cmos battery) and then, possibly a bios flash.

Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 06:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069

thanks for the reply

what do you mean by"swap out the 80 wire IDE"? you mean replace the cable?

what is fobarred?

yes, i think the BIOS does find both the drives all the time.
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 06:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
str8lazy's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy

yes, he means switch cables. f-ed up beyond all recongnition. that is what fubbared means, basically... If changing the cable doesnt work, try setting the jumper on the slave drive to cable select.
str8lazy is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 02:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069

so when the cables are fobarred(i guess it is an internet speak term), drives are detected in BIOS but can not be seen on the windows explorer, correct? i guess 80 wire IDE's are fobarred more than 40 wire IDE's, correct?
rookie1010 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.