Problem With GeForce 6600 256mb Graphics Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2006, 10:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Unhappy Problem With GeForce 6600 256mb Graphics Card

k so i bought a chaintech geforce 6600 256mb AGP graphics card a few weeks ago. when i installed everything and got the latest firmware thingy i wanted to play GTA San Andreas And Soldner. They worked fine at first but then they started to be all demented and have wierd texture lines flying across the screen of the game. it didnt do this for counter strike 1 and cz tho. so if u could please help me i will greatly appreciate it.

thx in advance (coolzo)
__________________

coolzo is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 03:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

have you installed the latest nVIDIA Forceware? also you could try reseating the graphics card because i have noticed AGP cards have a nasty tendency of not sitting in the slot correctly
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 02:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Default

i hav installed the latest nVIDIA forceware and i hav also tried to reseat the graphics card. do u think it might be the physical card itself that is damaged???

thx for replying (coolzo)
coolzo is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 04:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

sounds like its overheating or the firmware you updated it with isnt so great , from where exactly did you download the firmware? and was it for the exact card or same gpu but of other company? or you didnt update the firmware at all and you just saw on some site that its the latest? its unclear
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 08:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Default

i downloaded 81.98 forceware from www.nvidia.com and it is the latest one.

thx for replying (coolzo)
coolzo is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 08:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

that is a driver package not firmware. it could just be a dud card. i would return it given it seems faulty. if a new card gives the same symptoms we can work from there
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 06:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Default

ya the store that ordered it for me gave me an older graphics card and it works fine. so they are returning the geforce 6600 and getting a new one so ill see wat happens then.

thx 4 everything guys (coolzo)
__________________

coolzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.