Problem with DVD player - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2005, 09:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to sureshk256
Default Problem with DVD player

Hi friends
I have a problem with my DVD player (TEAC DVD-DL +/- Burner/player) on my computer. This is able to BURN both CDs and DVDs and able to play all original DVDs, All CDs ( original and burned), but it is NOT PLAYING( not even recognising) the DVDs which are BURNED ( whether it is on my PC or elsewhere on other PCs & notebooks). I am able to play the same burned DVDs ( even the ones which are burned on my PC) on other PCs.
Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Chenna
__________________

sureshk256 is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 09:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cubicle Bunker
Posts: 109
Default

What software are you using to play the DVDs? If you're using Windows Media Player, make sure it has the appropriate updates/codecs installed. Trying installing divx (from www.download.com) and see if that works. I'm guessing its a software-compatibility issue.

Good luck
__________________

__________________
Dell Precision 670 (3.4GHz DP Xeon, 4GB DDR2, XPSP3)
Dell D800 (1.8GHz, 1GB, XPSP3)

I work with computers, I play FFXI.
vagnozzi is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 09:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to sureshk256
Default

I am mostly using VLC player. But the problem is the system is not Recognising the DVD ( in my computer, where it usually shows the size and name of the DVD), if it is a burned one.
sureshk256 is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 10:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

WHAT OS DO YOU HAVE CHENNA ?

When did this start ?

did you just remove a trial version of any type of cd dvd software ?

if you look at the cd in windows explorer what do you see ?

is this a notebook or a desktop pc.
tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 10:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to sureshk256
Default

Mine is a desktop PC with Windows XP. and I bought this from a friend of mine... it was fine for sometime( I remember I watched some burned DVDs on my PC) and then all this started...
I would check about the software and explorer thing when I go back home in the evening and let you know.
thank you very much for the response
sureshk256 is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 11:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

OK

Also take a peak in devices , in harware tab, in the system folder in control panel...look for any red X or exclamation points

also try the dvd player in safe mode...reboot the pc and when you see the first glimmer of the pc coming back start taping the F8 key, you will get a menu , select safe mode.

also how is your pc running in general...slow, long time to boot or shutdown

may also be infected with viruses , trojans. spyware..this can cause symptoms you have also.
tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 11:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to sureshk256
Default

Sure
I will check it all as soon I go home
and in general my PC is running fine... and while booting also it hardly takes 30-40sec ( which I think b'coz of the number of programs that has to start along with when I start my computer)
and I am using Microsoft anti spyware...AVG antivirus system... and C-clean ( which will auromatically run everyday at sometime)

chenna
sureshk256 is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 11:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

ok

those programs only deal with viruses AND you should never have more then one AV program running at the same time.
tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 03:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to sureshk256
Default

I have just tried to check it in control panel... and it is not copletely showing all the Icons fully ( i mean i can c some Icons and in all other there is a common structure) and within 2-3 seconds it is showing the
'' send error report''(Windows Explorer has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.) which ultimately closing the control panel window.


Chenna
sureshk256 is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 03:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tractorboy
ok

those programs only deal with viruses AND you should never have more then one AV program running at the same time.
Microsoft Antispyware, as the name suggests, does not check for viruses.

Dan
__________________

dipique is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.