problem with dfi lanparty sli-dr - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2005, 10:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Unhappy problem with dfi lanparty sli-dr

I just put together a new comp with a DFI Lanparty UT SLI-DR mobo and a AMD Athlon 64 3500+. once i had the computer mostly put together (e.g. floppy, cd drive, hard drive, ram, processor, PS) and i realized that there is NO WAY TO CONNECT A MONITOR to the board. so, i just slipped in my evga geforce 7800gt and attached my LCD monitor to that, with an adapter. but when I powered up the sysetm all the fans and everything went on, but there was no activity on the monitor. and the cd drive wouldnt open when i pushed the button. and the "diagnostic LEDs" all went on and stayed on, indicating that the system was still at the earliest start up phase and hadnt recognised the prossesor, RAM, or VGA. Help! I cant get my new comp to work
__________________

MaximusNukeage is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 01:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Default

i think i have an idea! the aspire 600w powersupply dosent have a 4 pin 12v connector for the motherboard! could that be the problem?
__________________

MaximusNukeage is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 02:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

another thing to check. had the same problem with a friends. switch your ram to the other dimms. doesn't make sense but it worked on my buddies.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 02:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Default

i've tried moving the ram between the dimms. but i think the lack of the 4pin 12v connector could be it.
MaximusNukeage is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 04:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Default

i was able to fix the problem and now the system goes to the CMOS with out incident.

however now the comp dosent recognise the OEM 200gb sata maxtor hard drive. i have the sata cable connected to the drive and motherboard and i have the powercable connected from the PS to the Hard drive. any ideas?
MaximusNukeage is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 04:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

uhh.. u need to laod sata drivers (ur trying to isntall windows?) when it asks, press f6 to install 3rd party drivers. THen itl ask to insert a floppy that has the drivers, select the right ones, then proceed.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 04:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Default

i have not yet tried to install windows, the CMOS dosent recognise the sata drive
MaximusNukeage is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 10:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Default

my comp gets to the cmos and when i put in the windows xp disk it reads it and starts the install but the install stops because it dosent detect any hard drives, and when i try to use the cmos to set it up, the cmos cant detect the hard drive either. what do i do?
__________________

MaximusNukeage is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.