problem with computer freezing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2006, 06:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4
Default problem with computer freezing

i recently had an accident with my computer, i switched the voltage switch on the back of the computer by accident and it blew the power box. So i got assistance from a friend and went into PC world to get a new power box. We tested it at home and the computer switched on fine. I also switched my monitor to an old one due to the other monitor not working before.

When i went to use the computer again, the monitor kept turning on and off before finally swtiching on and windows loaded up. After a little while the computer begins to freezes up and dosnt do anything.

can anyone suggest what to do with this please
__________________

spongey is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 08:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Last time I saw this happen the whole computer was toast. You probably have some damaged hardware somewhere..

Good place to start testing is with the RAM, run memtest86
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 11:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4
Default

how do i run memtest. do i download the windows file onto a disk and then boot the disc?
spongey is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 12:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

you can download it form major geeks Here just follow the instructions that come with.

If I remember rightly you put a blank floppy in your drive, run the program then reboot from that floppy.

You may need to change your boot order to floppy then Hdd or enable floppy seek in BIOS.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.