problem with computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2006, 07:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default problem with computer

I have a problem with my computer, when i turn it on, it says auto detecting pri slave not detected, second master not detected, and second slave not detected and it keeps restarting. Could you please help with me this problem.
__________________

kidas is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 08:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to RonJr
Default

It could be that the bios is not recognizing your ODD's and HD.

Try going into the bios and see what it says if you haven't already.
__________________

RonJr is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 09:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

I went into the bios I dont know what to do or look for can you please help.Thanks
kidas is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 09:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to RonJr
Default

well as soon as you enter the BIOS you shold see see primary master, primary slave, secondary master, secondary slave and so on. We you look at it again it should have the part numbers or something like that next to some of them depending on how many drives you have. You don't need to know what those numbers are and they might have something like WD160 if its western digital or DVD and such. Cout how many drives you have hard drives and ODD's and see how many you have that show up in the BIOS>
RonJr is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 09:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Jesus christ would you guys get it right for once.!!! It the CMOS! not the BIOS. Omg.........


When did this start happening?

Has this drive been making any werid noises lately?
Ste is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 09:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to RonJr
Default

I guess I was taking the long route.
RonJr is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 11:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

i went into the cmos and it says pri master is cdrom and the pri slave is not installed and so on for the sec master and the sec slave, what else do i need to do?
kidas is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 06:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kidas
i went into the cmos and it says pri master is cdrom and the pri slave is not installed and so on for the sec master and the sec slave, what else do i need to do?
Did you do what I said in previous post?

Will you answer the questions asked in previous post?
Ste is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 11:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Its been hapening for awhile and no the drive hasnt been making any werid noises yes I went into the CMOS and it said pri master is cdrom and the pri slave is not installed and so on for the sec master and the sec slave.
kidas is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 01:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Wondering if someone could help me.Thanks
__________________

kidas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.