Problem clearing CMOS - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2005, 06:10 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Quote:
yeah but come on, obviously he's not a 'computer whiz' You should have been able to deduce he meant windows from the fact he said it's bringing up 'admin or guest' and asking for a password....since when has your BIOS asked you to sign in as an admin or guest, and beyond that, asked you that upon starting up your computer......you have to TRY to get into the BIOS, it doesn't just slam you with a PW
Well i told him how to get into the CMOS which is what he asked.

Actually i have heard of BIOS's saying:

Quote:
Please enter the administrator password:
When a password has been set to the BIOS.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 11:56 PM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 54
Default

I think it's all pretty clear in my first post- as is the fact that the 'expert advice' referred to was from the local shop- not this forum. My frustration was directed at my own lack of knowledge & the local guy, not at anyone in this forum.
If I decide to insult someone, you'll know about it!

Thanks again 4 all the help- I'll be in touch Amd2800.

ag100- frustrated beginner...
__________________

__________________
\'Life is a jetplane- it moves too fast\' Bob Dylan
ag100 is offline  
Old 10-23-2005, 01:26 AM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Well i told him how to get into the CMOS which is what he asked.

Actually i have heard of BIOS's saying:


quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please enter the administrator password:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



When a password has been set to the BIOS.
Yeah that's when you PURPOSELY enter the BIOS....how many times has a passworded BIOS asked you for a login for administrator or guest...theres your clue right there it's not the BIOS...nor does the BIOS just hit you with a password to continue...You have to WANT to enter the BIOS.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.