Problem clearing CMOS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2005, 01:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 54
Default Problem clearing CMOS

Turned on my wife's computer- this morning

Packard Bell IConnect 866
model- MON-GL1
Win XP Pro

A screen came up 'Enter PW to log on as admin or log on as guest.' never seen that before!
The guy at the shop said to try clearing the CMOS by taking the battery out- did that for half an hour- still the same!
(I first turned it off at the power point & unplugged it)
How can I clear the CMOS? I found the jumper, not sure whether to change it to clear & turn comp on, or what?
I can't even get into setup, without a PW.
The guy at the shop denies all knowledge of any PW??
I'm lost!

ag100
__________________

__________________
\'Life is a jetplane- it moves too fast\' Bob Dylan
ag100 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 03:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 112
Default

First make sure the computer is off. Then take out the battery. Next, move the jumper and wait at least 30s. Move jumper back, put battery back in and then power up.
__________________

Richard is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 04:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 54
Default

Tried that thanks Richard- still the same!

ag100
__________________
\'Life is a jetplane- it moves too fast\' Bob Dylan
ag100 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 06:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

what manufacturer is the bios? eg. Phoenix, Award???

BIOS manufacturers put several "default" passwords on BIOS's so people can get in them when they foget the passwords and cant clear the CMOS (eg. on a laptop or a locked server) but this will work in your case.

Here is a whole bunch of default passwords:

http://www.phenoelit.de/dpl/dpl.html
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 06:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 54
Default

Thanks Wayne- fellow Aussie- It's an American Megatrends, I believe. Couldn't find it on that page dammit. I'll try searching the net for something.

ag100
__________________
\'Life is a jetplane- it moves too fast\' Bob Dylan
ag100 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 07:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

http://www.f-secure.com/v-descs/raadioga.shtml

Quote:
AMI
ami
AMI_SW
AMI?SW
AMI?PW
A.M.I.
oder
PASSWORD
did you just try to hit cancel or something like that when it says enter the password, or OK, cause if you dont have a password then you can press OK or CACEL and keep going
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 07:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

that page has got me out of numerous sticky situations, including one with a old p1 mobo that had no visible battery
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 07:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

At boot-up note the BIOS provider (Award, AMI, Phoenix, IBM, etc.)


For Award BIOSÂ’ try these backdoor passwords:

AWARD_SW
j262
HLT
SER
SKY_FOX
BIOSTAR
ALFAROME
Lkwpeter
j256
AWARD?SW
LKWPETER
syxz
ALLy
589589
589721
awkward
CONCAT
d8on
CONDO
j64
szyx


For AMI BIOSÂ’ try these backdoor passwords:

AMI
BIOS
PASSWORD
HEWITT RAND
AMI?SW
AMI_SW
LKWPETER
A.M.I.
CONDO
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 07:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 54
Default

Jeez- what a mine of info you guys are! I'll have to leave all that til tomorrow now- my wife's gone to bed & will crack me over the head with it if it beeps one more time!
Thanks.

ag100
__________________
\'Life is a jetplane- it moves too fast\' Bob Dylan
ag100 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 08:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 54
Default

Well, I hate to disappoint you guys- tried everything suggested to no avail. The F secure page didn't even work!

-'An error occurred while processing your request.
Reference #101.84c1093d.1129938642.217f68'

Went to their home page & couldn't find anything useful.
Tried hitting cancel, esc, CAD & anything I could think of when the BIOS prompt came up- nothing.
Very peculiar indeed.....My wife is NOT impressed! Can't even install Office on her own comp.

ag100
__________________

__________________
\'Life is a jetplane- it moves too fast\' Bob Dylan
ag100 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.