Problem with both of my Hard Drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2006, 06:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to GolferBoy06 Send a message via Yahoo to GolferBoy06
Default Problem with both of my Hard Drives

so I have 2 250 GB sata hd's plugged in both plugged in properly.
The first weird problem is my primary HD is only HALF partitioned. Its a 250 GB drive.

Second problem is my secondary HD shows up under properties but It won't show up in my computer so I can get into it or transfer anything to it.

How do I fix these problems? Thank you guys.
Shows up I have a 3rd CD drive but I don't I have a CD/RW and a DVD drive.
__________________

GolferBoy06 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 06:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You probably installed XP from a CD without a Service Pack.

You may have installed SP1 or SP2 by now.

If you don't know if you did, right click "My computer" --> "Properties" and see if it says "Service Pack 1" or "Service Pack 2".

Also post a screenshot of diskmgmt.msc.

To open diskmgmt.msc

Click "start" --> "Run". Type the following: "diskmgmt.msc" and post a screenshot of it.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 06:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

once you get into disk manager you can allocate and format the other drive. you can also check for unformatted portions of your 1st drive.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 06:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to GolferBoy06 Send a message via Yahoo to GolferBoy06
Default

wow thank you guys so much I went in and just had to right click on space that was un partitioned. Thank you so much guys.
GolferBoy06 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 06:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yes, but please post a screenshot first. You don't want to screw anything up here.

To save some time, you can skip the Service Pack part. We can tell from the screenshots of diskmgmt.msc if you have any installed.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 06:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GolferBoy06
wow thank you guys so much I went in and just had to right click on space that was un partitioned. Thank you so much guys.
Ok, so the full 250GB was visible and you created 2 partitions? Added one to the first disk and created one on the second disk?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 06:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to GolferBoy06 Send a message via Yahoo to GolferBoy06
Default

GolferBoy06 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 07:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

wanna have the why is it only 232gb when the disk manufacturer says 250gb debate?


No Thanks Not Again.
;-)
nice job
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 07:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to GolferBoy06 Send a message via Yahoo to GolferBoy06
Default

so I'm doing it right? I will update to SP2 probably tomorrow but I got work in an hour.
GolferBoy06 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 07:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hefemeister
wanna have the why is it only 232gb when the disk manufacturer says 250gb debate?


No Thanks Not Again.
;-)
nice job
You did the right thing.

232GB is normal. It is because HDD manufacturers use a different system to count GB's (decimal) than Windows (binary).

I assume you have SP1 because you are saying you are going to upgrade to SP2?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.