Problem with boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2005, 12:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Default Problem with boot

Ok i just built a new pc apart from motherboard and cpu, but everytime i start up it's not going past the motherboard logo screen. I assume this is due to no keyboard being detected, but i have a keyboard installed. The keyboard is not faulty either as it works on this pc. I tried it in the mouse slot aswell but still no joy.
The mouse works just not the keyboard so i can't get into the bios and disable the hault option.
The weird thing is it worked for about 5 mins then i restarted then it stopped.
Does anybody have a solution for this?

stompalot is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 12:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760

If you are using a ps2 connection try a USB connection ( for the KB) If you are using a USB already try the ps2 or an alternate USB. let us know.

brady is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 03:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102

Borrow a PS2 keyboard form a member. See if your mobo recognizes the diff. KB. Sounds to me like th KB has fubared.
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 03:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

You can reset the CMOS by removing the battery for about 2 minutes
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 08:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12

I have the same problem where my keyboard isnt being read at all. Tried different keyboards, usb keyboards, taking out the cmos batt for a while, etc... no luck.
ASliceOfTom is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 01:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2

Ok i've tried a usb keyboard but still no luck...... its weird all the keyboards work on other computers just not that one..... Any help guys?

stompalot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.