Problem... Blue screen and immediate reboot... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2006, 01:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 75
Default Problem... Blue screen and immediate reboot...

Sold an old old old computer on ebay... Celeron processor... Like a 10gb HD... Old computer...

It worked fine before I shipped it out...

He got it and email me this...

"Computer arrived today however when you turn it on all you get is a blue screen and it immediately reboots."

Anyone know what's up?
__________________

Spi1lz is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

get him to tell you the stop code from the blue screen message.
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

-boot to safemode
-Right-click My Computer, and then click Properties.
-Click the Advanced tab.
-Under Startup and Recovery, click Settings to open the Startup and Recovery dialog box.
-Clear the Automatically restart check box, and click OK the necessary number of times.
-Restart your computer for the settings to take effect.

this will stop if from restarting then give us the errors if the errors are the same each time have him run memtest86 to check for bad ram if they are different check the powersupply.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

from what i hear...rough shipping, ups fedex or usps? how u ship? sounds like it got tossed around, hd may be bad, ram might be loose, tell him to open it up and wiggle the ram around, actually check everything, and try to boot, if still, then hd
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.