PROBLEM (again) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2005, 10:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to dirtyharry44
Angry PROBLEM (again)

well, it has only gotten worse. i recently downloaded the FEAR multiplayer demo and......wow. Worst delay yet. This time it even effects the fire button!!!!! I press the mouse and it fries like 5 SECONDS LATER. And same with mouse moving and keyboard. what do i do???
__________________

dirtyharry44 is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 12:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 46
Default

What are your computer specs? F.E.A.R. is quite a spec demanding game. It puts quite an impact even on good rigs. From what I can tell, your computer is very likely the problem. You can also try reverting the video settings to low quality, as is with the sound. Close any running programs/hidden processes.
__________________

xven is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 12:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to dirtyharry44
Default

2.93Ghz Intel Celeron
512mb PC2700 RAM
FX5500 256 PCI
Standard Emachines PS/2 board
Logitech MX518 mouse
dirtyharry44 is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 12:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

wow, that video card is quiet insufficient. The CPU is also towards the low.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 12:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yeah, for F.E.A.R. that's pretty limiting.
for F.E.A.R to run smothly it should have at least:
1GB PC3200 RAM
Nvidia 6600 GT
CPU with 3000+ rating - the Celeron you have would be equivalent to about a 2.6-2.7GHZ Pentium 4/2600+ AMD, because the Celerons are cut down.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 12:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to dirtyharry44
Default

yes, i'm not running on the best system BUT! i can still run HL2,BF2, and others just fine. And all of a sudden SWAT 4 (which isn't even as graphically good as CS:S) doesn't work correctly. VERY upsetting
dirtyharry44 is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 01:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 14
Default

IT'S AN EMACHINE.

Buy a real computer at a real computer store.
905it is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 01:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 905it
IT'S AN EMACHINE.

Buy a real computer at a real computer store.
No, real computers aren't bought, they are built...
Ste is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 01:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to dirtyharry44
Default

hey 905it, gimme that 1000$ or so and i'll go and do that right away ; )
__________________

dirtyharry44 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.