Problem after BIOS update. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2005, 08:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 131
Default Problem after BIOS update.

I downloaded the correct new BIOS for my motherboard and flashed it the correct way. It seemed to flash it smoothy and said "PASS" at the end. I restarted it but the system wouldn't POST it just keeps beeping over and over again. I looked up the beep code and it says "DRAM Error" which seems odd.

I can still boot it from the backup BIOS. I tried copying the Backup BIOS back onto the main one but it didn't seem to work .

Anyone?
__________________

RedUK is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 09:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 131
Default

Oh my God.. I'm never updating my BIOS again..EVER..even if someone holds a gun to my head.

I just fixed it now and I am back where I was before!

All praise the Dual BIOS!
__________________

RedUK is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 09:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

I LOVE dual BIOS for that exact reason. What you have a Gigabyte mobo dual BIOS? Glad to hear you got that worked out..what was the problem? also what was the original problem that you are trying to correct with the flash?
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 09-25-2005, 10:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 131
Default

Well I wanted to update because I wanted e-stepping for my CPU. I tried to Update to the newest BIOS. Tried to flash the following:

BIOS VERSIONS:

K9: CPU Code **Didn't work** (Wouldn't POST)
K8: Dual Core support **Didn't work** (Wouldn't POST)
K7: E-stepping supprt **Worked**
K6: Current BIOS **Worked**

Do you think the other two BIOS flashes didn't work because I don't have a dual core CPU? Or because my RAM is in single channel mode?

Anyway the GA-K8NXP-SLi K7 Update worked so I updated from K6 to K7.
RedUK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.