A problem about my video card! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2006, 08:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 106
Default A problem about my video card!

Hello every pro bros, i got a serious problem recently!! Sometimes i switch on my computer, my monitor will not work. I means when i switch on my computer, nothing come out in my monitor but my CPU and my monitor are running! Only nothing shown on the screen but everything is runny! please help me out~ i heard my brother that is the problem of my RAM, becoz i'm using 512MB x4( 3 kingston and 1 twinMOS). After i plug out 512MB x2, my computer runs as normal. What is the problem ?
__________________

SpringNite is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 01:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Do you hear any bios beeps when you switch on your pc? Any repeating beeps? If it works with just the two 512mb sticks in there, then I wouldnt be worried. It might not like when you have two different brands of ram.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 06:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 106
Default

What do you means ? i cant get it, sorry, it got a "beep" sound when i switch on my computer. Just once~
SpringNite is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 06:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to doublebassdanny
Default

What are the speeds on your four different sticks of RAM? Different brand shouldn't matter. Possibly a dual channel mode problem? Could you give your complete PC specs?
doublebassdanny is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 09:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 106
Default

Intel 2.8GHz
Asus P4P800 SE
Sapphire 9550 128MB
512MB x4 ( 3 kingston and 1 twinMOS )
SpringNite is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.