Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2006, 06:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Default Problem

Ok firstly my specs are

Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-K8VM800M
GC - 6800GS
1GB Ram
PSU - Purepower560W
120GB Sata HDD
AMD Athlon 3000+
17' TFT Monitor

Basically I went to put in a new processor, but changed my mind so just put the old one back in so everything was the same as before but whenever I boot I get a red light on my cd drive and the monitor doesnt come on, when I try re-switch it on it just comes up "no signal". Sometimes the light on cd drive will go from red to green in an instant when I turn on my comp but still the monitor doesnt come on it just stays on no signal, also sometimes but rarely as soon as I turn it on it goes straight off. (the comp)

I've tried an alternative PSU, Graphics Card and mobo battery.

Anyone have any ideas on what it is? - yes it could be the processor because I messed with it but do these sound like the sort of problems to occur from a dodgy processor? I just need to no which part is broken so I can replace it.. I don't have another processor to try.

Thanls
__________________

LivingDead is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 07:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

You fried the motherboard somehow. You said new motherboard battery? did you take it out for a few minutes or did you find the jumper on the board and reset the cmos.
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 08:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

have you tried to reseat the CPU? you might have bent a pin putting it back in. or it's not seated all the way.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 11:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Default

I just brought a new battery, took the old one out and put the new one in..

Also the cpu was put in right, and had no bent pins but when I was trying to force it in a different way I think I bent some of the pins, but it was still broken before the broken pins.

So I need a new motherboard?
LivingDead is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 04:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

does nobody kno the answer?
Ivens2k1 is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 05:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

You "forced" the CPU in? The CPU takes virtually no press at all to install, if you do it correctly. It just drops right in. If you had to force it, then you put it in wrong.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 05:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

i kno livingdead he lives by me, does he need a new motherboard? or processor ?
Ivens2k1 is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 08:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Well if the CPU has broken or bent pins, then you'll need a new CPU. Usually you can't unbend the pins unless they are right on the edge, and since they are very small they are also very brittle, and usually if you bend them back they break off.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.