Probably a PSU Problem, Just Want To Make Sure - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2008, 01:24 PM   #1 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Probably a PSU Problem, Just Want To Make Sure

I have this computer with me that when I try to turn it on all it does is make a clicking sound once, the CPU fan twitches and then the comp just stops. I've checked all connectors etc.

Think it could be something else or am I right about the PSU? I also tried flipping the power switch connector; same thing.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 01:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Probably a PSU Problem, Just Want To Make Sure

Sounds like a PSU to me.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 02:01 PM   #3 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Probably a PSU Problem, Just Want To Make Sure

Alrighty then thanks Mak.

I'm gonna go get a new one now. Be back in a bit!
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 08:26 PM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Probably a PSU Problem, Just Want To Make Sure

Well I set up the new PSU and it's still doing the same thing. I'm thinking the old PSU either fried the motherboard as well or it's only the motherboard that's dead. The fans all just twitch like before. The light on the motherboard is on so it is receiving power.

Oh and I picked up a 500W OCZ StealthXStream. Good price for them right now.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 08:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: Probably a PSU Problem, Just Want To Make Sure

Checked RAM at all? I've had strange problems where you wouldn't even think of it being the RAM but it turns out that it is so i would check that first.

If not that then it has to be the board
[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 09:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Probably a PSU Problem, Just Want To Make Sure

Anyway you can run a stress test on it or anything? Like from:

Memtest86 - Download Page
.StressLinux.org. - .System.High.Load.Test.

I know you probably have MemTest86. But the Stress Linux is a good CPU tester. LiveCD as well. So there are some options. But from what you say i would now say that testing a new PSU and getting the same results it is not looking good for hte mobo.

Have you gone down to basic hardware to test?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 12:35 AM   #7 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Probably a PSU Problem, Just Want To Make Sure

No I can't do anything with it. Funny problem. I've only seen this once before but it was the PSU that was the issue. It's down to the motherboard, CPU and RAM. The CPU fan and the new PSU fan still just twitch for a second and then the thing doesn't respond. No power, nothing. Other than the green light on the motherboard.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 07:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: Probably a PSU Problem, Just Want To Make Sure

sounds like a fried mobo most likely then. Seems like it gets power for a second then a short interrupts it.

You should RMA that board if you can.
networkgeek is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 08:14 AM   #9 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Probably a PSU Problem, Just Want To Make Sure

Naw it isn't mine. I do a lot of repair work for people as my side job. I'll have to ask the guy if it's still under warranty but I don't think it is. He got it when the Core 2 wasn't out and Pentium D was the best Intel could offer. 2 years old or more I believe.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upside-Down PSU Crazydog115 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 04-14-2008 12:57 PM
Problem installing software in windows xp pro imagesmith Microsoft Windows and Software 3 02-20-2008 02:46 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM
Psu Redmo0n System Upgrades 6 12-15-2007 11:35 PM
In Depth PSU Guide: Please Read. Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-13-2007 11:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.