printer giving probs.... again.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2005, 04:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 199
Send a message via AIM to bomt697
Default printer giving probs.... again....

hey guys, my HP DJ 5850 wireless printer is acting up. I reinstalled the drivers and i had to enter the IP address of the printer myself, my computer didnt pick it up by itself. when i tried to print something it didnt work. just says failed to print after a few mins. no errors msg of any kind. i tried to ping the ip address and it works, i get a avg response time of 3ms. i checked and the printer is on marked off as default. i tured off my firewall program as well, but no luck i went on HP's website, the site tired to look for the printer on my network but no luck as well......

so what can i do to resolve this problem? thx
__________________

__________________
if it was up to me, my sound system would be worth more then the latest and greatest comp.

-Gigabite 880 mobo
-AMD FX -8350 Black edition
-Kingston Hyper X 16gigs
-Western Digital 1Tb HD
-GeForce GTX 660Ti
-thermaltake 850watt psu
-logitech Z-55oo speakers
bomt697 is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 02:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

You are positive you have the correct IP address? Have you printed out a recent test page to make sure it didnt change for some strange reason? Also do you have a wireless router? Maybe that is conflicting with it. How did you configure this printer? With a standard tcp/ip port?
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 11:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 199
Send a message via AIM to bomt697
Default

am sure i have the right ip address, i got it right outta the printer. i have not been able to print out anything from the my printer besides the networking information (that comes from the printer itself). the funny thing is that it was working and it just stopped out of the blue, no idea why....
__________________
if it was up to me, my sound system would be worth more then the latest and greatest comp.

-Gigabite 880 mobo
-AMD FX -8350 Black edition
-Kingston Hyper X 16gigs
-Western Digital 1Tb HD
-GeForce GTX 660Ti
-thermaltake 850watt psu
-logitech Z-55oo speakers
bomt697 is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 11:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

So you set this printer up initially with the ethernet plugged in right ?

Setup instructions
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 02:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 199
Send a message via AIM to bomt697
Default

No i set it up on a wireless connection
__________________
if it was up to me, my sound system would be worth more then the latest and greatest comp.

-Gigabite 880 mobo
-AMD FX -8350 Black edition
-Kingston Hyper X 16gigs
-Western Digital 1Tb HD
-GeForce GTX 660Ti
-thermaltake 850watt psu
-logitech Z-55oo speakers
bomt697 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.