Pretty Sure Here - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2006, 07:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to bozzobrain Send a message via Yahoo to bozzobrain
Default Pretty Sure Here

OK not exactly sure if this is where this post should be but any way i have this computer i built for a friend and when i use it, it just seems to want to spontaniously restart but i cant see why it is doing it. I at first thought that it would be the psu but i just bought a new one which is 450 watts and it is an Okia or somthing a cheap off brand but idk it works for a while but when i minimize world of warcraft or try to switch characters it just shuts down.... any ideas?
__________________

bozzobrain is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 07:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

It sounds a lot like the powersupply. That thing is a piece of crap. What are the specs of the system? Which video card are you using. The only other things that I can see is a bad installation or overheating problems.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 08:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to bozzobrain Send a message via Yahoo to bozzobrain
Default

Video Card=XGI Volari 8x agp 128meg
Wireless Internet Card Belkin Wireless G
Creative Sound Card
80gb Generic Hard Drive
AMD Athlon XP 2900+
Good CPU fan and heatsink

Dont remember which motherboard
But yeah
bozzobrain is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 08:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Did you get that computer from tigerdirect? Is the motherboard like an ASUS ktv-600 or something like that?
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 08:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to bozzobrain Send a message via Yahoo to bozzobrain
Default

yeah i beleve so but i had it in another computer and it worked fine but now its acting up in a new computer
bozzobrain is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.