Press F1 to Resume problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2006, 02:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 12
Default Press F1 to Resume problem

I've ASUS-915 motherboard with a CD-R and a SATA hard disk.
the problem is that when I start my PC, it says "Press F1 to Resume" to continue, and I press F1 then windows start.

My CD-R detect at Primary IDE Master
and SATA HD at Third IDE Slave.

what's the reason to say Press F1 to resume.


Shahid
__________________

snkhokhar is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 02:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 237
Default

i dont know, but maybe you should check your bios settings?
__________________

Tordenskjold is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 10:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you need to change a setting in BIOS to "halt on no errors"
it should be in the first part

I think by default, the setting is "all, but keyboard"
can't remember where in the BIOS it is exactly
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 04:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

The cmos battery is no good it has to reload the defaults eveytime you reboot because the battery isn't helping it store your choices!!!

What else does it say on the post screen?
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 06:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Default

An f1 thing comes up if i restart with a flash drive in since it detects another bootable device. If you go in the bios and set the boot order to "hard disk" as first choice with no second or third (i.e set them as "none") then the message may not appear.
__________________
AMD 3000+
2gb RAM
X800 PCI-e
80gb + 250gb WD HDDs
X-FI Xtreme Music
DVD/CD-RW Drive
IfYouHaveToAsk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.