powersupply and power outlet - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2007, 04:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Default powersupply and power outlet

I was wondering what the chances are that i could have a bad power outlet sending power to my computer.

Before my christmas break at my dormroom, my computer was blue screening, shutting off, and restarting. It would do it almost every 5-10 minutes. I then brought my computer home with the exact same setup and it never blue screened once for the whole break (about 3-4 weeks). Then when break was over, i brought my computer back to my dorm room and it blue screened immediately and restarts often like it used to.

Since everything is the exact same as i have it at home, is the only answer the power outlet?
__________________

Jlim is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 05:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 146
Default

Try it on a diff power outlet and see. Or, a better idea, get a UPS and see if that corrects the issue.

It's quite possible, AC power out of your wall is never stable, it's constantly fluxing, to small degrees that normal surge protectors don't protect you from. It's expected and won't kill your electronics, but it is hard on them. Getting a UPS, the AC power gets converted to DC, which is nice, stable and flat, and then sends it to whatever is plugged into it.
__________________

__________________
http://www.geocities.com/signature_s...dphxnoedge.jpg
System: Athlon 64 X2 3800+
EVGA Geforce 8600 GTS 256mb PCIE
ECS (pile of crap) Mobo
1.5 GB Corsair PC3200
Soundblaster Audigy Pro
Windows XP Pro, Lemming Optimized.
ShackledPhoenix is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 07:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShackledPhoenix
Try it on a diff power outlet and see. Or, a better idea, get a UPS and see if that corrects the issue.

It's quite possible, AC power out of your wall is never stable, it's constantly fluxing, to small degrees that normal surge protectors don't protect you from. It's expected and won't kill your electronics, but it is hard on them. Getting a UPS, the AC power gets converted to DC, which is nice, stable and flat, and then sends it to whatever is plugged into it.
Doesn't your power supply also convert AC to DC? How would that work if you plugged the power supply into the UPS?
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.