Power Up New Computer problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2006, 01:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default Power Up New Computer problem

New Build, ASUS PW5D2 MoBo, D950 CPU, Enermax Liberty 500W with AutoSwitching(no manual voltage control?), 2 GIG Ram. Checked all connections. Tried new outlets. When powerup, get the steady green lite and a second or two of Fans starting to run, then it stops, but the green lite is still lit. Appreciate input.
__________________

Marco is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 02:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Default

May be a faulty PSU and the no manual voltage control is a bit odd.
__________________

fuz_master is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 08:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

I'd put my money on a faulty PSU as well. Although it's an Enermax, should be reliable...
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 01:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default

How can I test the Power Supply? Is there a way to test it by isolating it from the computer?
Marco is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 12:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

You have to cross two wires (i think red and yellow?) and read the voltage off of them for 12 volts, then a different pair for the 5 volts, and the 3.3.... yeah.

But im not sure on the combo's, ask google!
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 08:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Your fan's stop after a few seconds?? How many sticks of ram are you using for the 2gb's 4? or 2? try one stick at a time. Are you getting any post beeps? Try jumpstarting the psu, buy unplugging everything and at the atx connector jump the green wire to any black and see if the psu runs if it doesn't its bad if it does then keep looking. 99% of the time these problems are related to a bad mobo.

Jeremy gives a good discription of doing this in this thread
http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...487#post819393
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 02:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default

I jump started the PSU and the Fan spun. Disconnected all peripherals. Left the 2 sticks of 1 gb ram each inserted and the video card and keyboard. Turned on and PSU, CPU, and case fans all ran but nothing posted on monitor. Then added DVD, system started and stopped as before. Disconnected DVD and connected HD, system started and stopped, tried again and this time stayed on but slight bit of smoke came off connectors to HD, which I pulled plug immediately. Seems I have a short some where. I have dissassembled everything and started over inspecting everything along the way. One thing I noticed was that once I had fans running, the switch would not turn system off, had to pull the plug. What does that mean? Also, found a cut in the wire that connects USB ports to front of Case, which could be source of short? So I disconnected that wire. I want to test each component one at a time as I reassemble system. Question, what is the sequence to do this or how should I do this and when should I see posts on the monitor? Example, if I have CPU, Ram and videocard, should I not see something being posted on monitor? Appreciate your input. Thanks.
Marco is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 02:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default

No Posts and no beeps while fans running
Marco is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 03:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WorldIndustries
I'd put my money on a faulty PSU as well. Although it's an Enermax, should be reliable...
I should have taken that bet, Boards toast man!
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.