power switch or smps trouble ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2006, 12:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Unhappy power switch or smps trouble ?

my comp seems to be working fine most of the time ... but some times out of the blues it refuses to start (power on) ...i have no idea why it does that .. and if i jus leave it like that way and try the power button after a couple of hours it starts ... please could anyone tell me what might be the problem ???
__________________

stardust12 is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 08:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 182
Default

List your system components in your profile, otherwise we are working in the dark! List your 'exact power supply model'.
You may just have a cheap P/S with insufficient "current capabilities".
see link below.......

http://www.pcguide.com/ts/x/ggen01.htm
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated.
JKnPA is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 08:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

You can bypass the mobo power switch with use of a paper clip but it is a little nervey!!!!! You go to pin 14 on the 20 pin rail and insert the paper clip from pin 14 (green) to an adjacent balck ground while the power is off and unpluged from the wall. Plug the psuback in and turn the switch on form the psu and it will boot. Also, I have removed the swtiches from an old case and used those for circumstances just like yours. If you have an old case around just strip out the front side connectors like the HDled, reset and power SW. All you need to do is pull the power switch from the current case and insert the test switch. If it boots regularly it's the switch and you need a new case. If it is not the switch...I'm giong with a new power supply.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.