Power supply too weak? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2005, 03:31 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 37
Default BUMPAGE

And I finally just busted out my digital camera and took a snapshot of my BIOS screen in messed-up mode: click here. It's a bit blurry, but for instance: where it says "Dttcct (ivvss a#dEE||t" is supposed to read "Detect drives and exit"

Here's some additional strangeness: When it is funky, and I boot up into Windows, the desktop comes up just fine. And when I just turn it off and immediately back on again instead of restarting, it works every time.

Does anyone have a clue as to why this might be?
__________________

LancerZero is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 04:39 PM   #22 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

that's usually a bad psu. since we eliminated that, it got to be your mobo
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 01:12 AM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

use this to guide your purchase for power supply.

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 01:42 AM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 37
Default

Win2kPatcher: Yup, that's what I used. It said I needed at least a 240-something watt PSU. Then, what I was using was a 250 watt. So I bought and installed a 350 watt Antec PSU.

EricB: Crap. That's what I was afraid of. I don't suppose there's any easy way to troubleshoot it, to see if there's any likelihood that I could just keep going like this and not have my computer totally fry itself?
LancerZero is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 07:27 AM   #25 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I'm afraid not
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 09:44 AM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 37
Default

Crapmonkeys. Is it likely that my other hardware is salvageable? I might be able to scrape the dough together for a new mobo, but not a whole new system.
__________________

LancerZero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.