Power supply too weak? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2005, 09:55 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 37
Default

Thanks for the input . . . how's this for weird? No PCI cards, and it still won't detect my optical drives! I checked, double-checked, and triple-checked the IDE cables to make sure they were snug, and still, nothing. With just the wireless card, it doesn't seem to matter which slot it's in - same problem. I also tried just putting in the sound card, trying it by itself in each of the three PCI slots. You guessed it, same problem.

Another oddity, though, is that the computer will only detect the wireless card if it's in the top slot, and will only detect the sound card (though it won't work) if it's in the bottom slot. When I switched my wired 10/100 ethernet card to another slot, the comp had no trouble detecting it. And though Windows detects the optical drives, it says the driver is missing or damaged. The BIOS has no trouble detecting them.

Could it be that the PSU is providing enough power to get the drives detected, but not enough for them to work? And is Antec a decent brand of PSU?
__________________

LancerZero is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 10:17 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'd say you need to replace your ATAPI.SYS
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 03:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 37
Default

Update: I've taken out the 10/100 card, the 5.1 sound card, and unplugged the power for the CD-RW drive. I uninstalled and reloaded the DVD driver, and it works fine now. But I still get the funky graphics at startup sometimes. Guess I'll have to live with it until I can afford a new PSU.
LancerZero is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 06:42 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 37
Default

Okay, I bought an Antec 350W PSU and the problem got worse. It took me over a dozen startup attempts before it finally worked.
LancerZero is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 08:15 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

thats strange
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 12:59 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

your video card is seated properly right? maybe reinsert it.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 07:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 37
Default

I tried that - even vacuumed out the AGP slot to be sure there was no dust interference. It doesn't seem to have such a problem on a cold boot, though (like, after it's been off awhile). I wonder if it might be a heat problem?
LancerZero is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 07:15 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

you have the latest drivers right?
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 07:41 PM   #19 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I thinking that maybe the video card damaged the mobo when it was acting up
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 10:57 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 37
Default

Windows Update says I have the latest drivers, and I've used Windows for long enough to know that actually means "I'd better check."

The only thing is, how could either of those problems result in there being problems primarily when it restarts, but only when it restarts? Once the comp starts up right, there's no problems - even if it's on for a few days. But if it's messed up, it doesn't get better 'till I restart.

oy! I hope it didn't screw up my mobo.
__________________

LancerZero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.