Power supply question.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2006, 09:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Default Power supply question....

Hi everyone, I have a question.

I recently purchase a dell optiplex gx50 motherboard with a 1.1ghz, and 256mb ram. Its on its way right now, i havent recieved it yet. I'm using it for a project and I dont need to fit it in the original case. Anyway, the power supply for the mobo is available on ebay, but its considerably more expensive than a standard atx power supply, I think this is because its a small form factor so that it will fit into the gx50 case. NOw the gx50 power supplys seem to have a standard 20 pin connector on them to connect main power to the mobo. However, from what I can see from pictures the colors on the wires are different than most standard power supplys, my question is, do you think its just a dell thing and I can use any atx power supply or must I use the gx50 power supply. Also its a socket 370. I have seen on ebay some power supplys that say they support socket 370, I wonder if these will definetly work.

Shaolindrunkard is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 10:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
Nukem's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 4,334

a standard PSU will work... I do it all the time with Dell's as long as the case you are using is an aftermarket case you'll be good.


Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70
NZXT Source 530 / i7-3770K / Corsair H100 / ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / SoundBlaster Recon3d
Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSD/Seagate 1TB/2TB/WD 2TB
4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 / PNY GTX 980 ti/ Seasonic M12II 850W
Nukem is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 11:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2

Even if the wire colors are different? I'm just a bit worried about frying the mobo by putting wrong voltages into the wrong pins. I see a bunch of power supplys that say they work for specific brands, thats why I want to make sure.
Shaolindrunkard is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 11:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
CrazeD's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD

The newer Dells use a different pin arrangement in the ATX plug, to prevent you from buying an aftermarket PSU.

I believe you can change the pin arrangement to match that of Dells, but I'm not sure.

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.