Power Supply Problems? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2006, 02:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default Power Supply Problems?

I recently purchased a new 450 watt Antec PSU. I was using a crummy 350 watt PS that came with my case. I noticed on my old PS that even idle the case fans and CPU fan seemed to rev up and down, similar to a revving effect with a car engine if you would press the gas peddle. (Can't think of any other way to put it)

Anyway, with my new PSU I can really hear a difference, the fans are all louder like I just turbo charged my engine. However, now the revving up and down is louder as well, and I've never heard anything like this with any of my other past PC's.

Everything runs great, I even seem to be running cooler. I just keep waiting for it to rev up and then literally just stall and shut off or something, but as I said, all is working great, even better.

Any reason to think the PSU is bad or going to die?

If I didn't hear this happen a bit with my old PSU I would have contacted NewEgg for an RMA already, but I'm not sure what to do since everything runs great. Shrug.
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 02:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to Dngrsone Send a message via Yahoo to Dngrsone
Default

Check teh documentation on your motherboard. Chances are it's controlling the fan speeds depending on teh temperatures in the case. The fact that your fans seem to be more enrgetic tells me that you prbably needed to change out the PSU anyway.
__________________

Dngrsone is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 02:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

That would make sense, especially since the previous PSU seemed to do it as well. I have to admit I thought all the hype about higher quality PSU's wouldn't mean much, but even the power/HDD LED's seem to be 4x brighter, and under load the system runs MUCH cooler then before. The new PSU felt like a brick, the old one was as light as a feather!!!

Anyway, I'll check on my MOBO docs and see what they say.
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.