Is this a power supply problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2010, 03:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Default Is this a power supply problem?

Hiya!
(Win 98SE - Intel Celeron 3.2 ghz - 512 mb)
I'm having a problem with the CD drives on my PC. It says that they're detected on the power on self test at start up... but no blinking lights, no motor sounds, trays don't open, clicking on them in My Computer just says "drive not accessible - device is not ready". Removing them in device manager, disconnecting the cables, restarting doesn't help. It auto detects them...but they're both still dead.
I checked with a voltmeter, and there is voltage at the power plugs going into each drive. Red-Black1 5.2v, Red-Black2 5.2v, Red-Yellow 6.9v, Yellow-Black1 12.04v. Even so, my guess is it's the power supply, because it does hiccup on start up. A few seconds after power is turned on, everything goes totally dead for 4 seconds (including power supply fan)...then it starts normally. Also, wouldn't the trays operate in any event if there was power? Any possibilities I'm overlooking before I change the power supply? Thanks in advance!
__________________

Bernard is offline  
Old 02-20-2010, 03:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Is this a power supply problem?

If I'm not mistaken you are booting into Windows, right? If so, then the problem is with the drives. But as old as your PC is, it wouldn't surprise me if the power supply was weak or about to go out.

Drives are cheap, as old as your PC is you just want to make sure you buy an IDE drive. This one will read and write CD's or DVD's

Newegg.com - SAMSUNG Black 22X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 16X DVD+R DL 22X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache IDE 22X DVD±R DVD Burner - CD / DVD Burners

As for a power supply, is your PC a brand name like Dell, HP, Compaq, etc...? If so what is the Make and Model? Or is it a Generic no-name PC?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-20-2010, 04:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Is this a power supply problem?

Yes, it boots Windows from the HD.
The CD drives are old. One of them is a Sony CD ROM (must be 13 years old), and the other is a HP CD/RW (probably pushing 10 years old).
I built this PC in 2007 and just reused some hardware from what was still alive & kicking from earlier comps, so it may very well be just a coincidence that they both went out about the same time. It just seems odd to me that they'd both display the same functional symptoms. Thanks!
Bernard is offline  
Old 03-20-2010, 09:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: None of your business
Posts: 100
Default Re: Is this a power supply problem?

I don't know, but I think you should think about buying (or building), a new computer.
qblake is offline  
Old 03-20-2010, 10:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Is this a power supply problem?

Well i would consider at least upgrading to WinXP. Win 98SE has been out of updates for a few years now and there have been some serious flaws that have been patched in recent versions that affected all versions. So it could very well be that you have an infection and not that the drives died. I dont even know if things like Malwarebytes or ComboFix will run on Win98SE.

If you insert a win98SE setup disk into the drive will the PC boot from it? If so then the drives are not the issue.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-21-2010, 08:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Is this a power supply problem?

If I remember correctly, the Win98 OS needs to have a floppy disk in order to start the setup. Been several years since I messed with that...
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
strange power problem: no boot, LED flicker, angry floppy drive AskMeAboutRNA Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-04-2008 08:36 PM
Help needed prasmat System Upgrades 1 06-29-2008 11:05 AM
Power supply issues - Dell inspiron 531 Yuffles System Upgrades 16 02-17-2008 03:59 PM
Power Supply Question Higach New Systems | Building and Buying 2 01-15-2008 11:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.