Power Supply problem - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2007, 05:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Power Supply problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by midn1gh7 View Post
so what you'll wanna do is borrow a psu from someone, and then if everything still works then you're golden, and just buy a new power supply.
Not a cheap one, ! Well as to what QuaziBee has said,"PSU's are the common culprit to other component failures." Yes once the PSU dies out with having all the component running, some will probably get messed up. But I don't think I've heard/seen anyone with a PSU that died out while their computer was running.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 06:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Power Supply problem

well look at his components, you don't need anything more then probably a 300w psu which you could pick up for like 20-30 bucks.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 06:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Power Supply problem

Thanks for the help. I do have access to another motherboard should mine have gone bad. I think I may have access to another PSU to try also. Thanks again!
jbcal22 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 09:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Power Supply problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by midn1gh7 View Post
well look at his components, you don't need anything more then probably a 300w psu which you could pick up for like 20-30 bucks.
But that is one of the most important parts in computer building. You always want a decent PSU that you know will last your for awhile. If you buy something cheap, you're going to buy it twice. :laughing:
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 10:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Power Supply problem

So, any suggestions on Brands? I definitely don't want to have to replace this again! Thanks.
jbcal22 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 10:52 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Power Supply problem

Xclio Greatpower 550W, Corsair 520HX/620HX. Really good power supply units that many members on here would suggest.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 06:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Power Supply problem

for a 5 year old pc? i think 550w is stretching it a bit, unless you can get it for cheap.

i just build a kid a new pc amd x2, decent video 512 ram and some other stuff and it will run on a 300.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 06:25 AM   #18 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Power Supply problem

my 600 PSU cost 20 quid thats like 45 bucks, get a decent one not to expensive, you definately dont need 550w
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard and Power Supply Problem. smalls0224 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-11-2007 04:05 PM
power supply question raverx3m New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-24-2007 10:24 AM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
7 VSB from power supply?? GregJ Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-14-2007 11:36 AM
just changed power supply, weird harddrive problem (sata) idrisguitar Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-31-2007 11:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.