Power supply issue with new graphics card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2011, 03:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Default Power supply issue with new graphics card?

Alright, so my friend let me have one of his old graphics cards and I figured anything is better than my pos onboard video card. It was a GeForce GS 8400 and when I tried to install it, my computer powered on for less than a second, then shut off. So my initial reaction was that it was a power supply issue, but I'm not sure. Here's the specs of my system.

Motherboard: Asus M4A785-M
Processor: AMD Dual Core Athlon X2 245
Power Supply: Rosewill RV2-600(it says 600W, who knows if its right)
Optical Drive: LiteOn 24x Internal CD/DVD Writer
RAM: 2x 2GB GSkill DDR2
Hard Drive: 750 GB Seagate 7200 RPM

P.s. The computer still ran after taking out the video card, so that's why I thought it was a power supply issue.
I've done multiple of the online PSU output calculators and I've never used anymore than 400W total. So apparently this graphics card takes up 200W of power? I have no clue.
__________________

Uziel is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 04:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Power supply issue with new graphics card?

It should be just fine.

Double check you didn't loosen any cables or the memory when you installed it.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 06:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Power supply issue with new graphics card?

actually, I guess it was in the wrong box, never really noticed this before but its not the 8400. Its a GeForce 6 series and from what I'm seeing online, its the 6800(either XT or GS). Also, I tried putting it in again after unplugging all power supply from the computer and trying again with no luck, still the same issue.
If anyone has any further updates on whether you think its the graphics card or the PSU, that would be great.
Uziel is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 07:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Power supply issue with new graphics card?

Its probably the card. Even my system loaded pulls under 600W.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 07:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 16
Default Re: Power supply issue with new graphics card?

Your PSU could be faulty, but I highly doubt a 600w psu cannot supply that card my dad a runs a high end 6 series on a 400w and its fine.

**** I been running a gtx 260 on a 600w PSU so it will run a 6800 XT/GS fine, I also ran a 8500 GT on a 600w psu.

The 6800 ultra takes between 70-120w according to various sites, the GS takes considerably less, your psu should run that fine since you have 200w spare according to your post.
Lyna-DA is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 10:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Power supply issue with new graphics card?

Thank you all for your inputs. But does anyone possibly think that the power supply is falsely labeled? Because I was reading online and some people were saying that Rosewill may have been mislabeling their wattages. I'll admit that when I bought the power supply, that had the least amount of research involved. I never really knew how important that part was. If it helps at all, it was only about $50 for it, and some were saying that $50 for a 600W supply means poor quality.
Uziel is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 10:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Power supply issue with new graphics card?

It's probably not great quality but I'm not sure that's the cause. I run a HD4850, 4 hard drives, 2 dvd burners and a quad core Phenom II from a 480W 5 year old PSU. Did you connect any auxilliary power connectors on the card? Not doing so would likely result in similar symptoms.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 10:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Power supply issue with new graphics card?

All's I did was plug it into the PCI express, no other cables
Uziel is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 11:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 16
Default Re: Power supply issue with new graphics card?

My OCZ 600w modular cost me 60 and has never let me down, had it for a long while, its powering my 5870 at the moment.
__________________

Lyna-DA is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power supply help for new graphics card Exoleet System Upgrades 12 10-22-2008 11:29 PM
Graphics Card and Power Supply ratzlaff System Upgrades 6 04-29-2008 12:55 PM
what power supply for what graphics card lemonfrost System Upgrades 7 11-05-2007 02:08 AM
Need a new Power Supply, graphics card not getting enough 706 System Upgrades 5 02-01-2007 04:04 AM
Graphics Card - Power Supply koolsam24 System Upgrades 9 11-21-2005 08:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.