Power supply enough? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2005, 05:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Default Power supply enough?

I have a 330 watt power supply running a p4 3.0 ghz and a pixelpro 6800 gt. I keep getting a bad crash when playing day of defeat source, it either gives me hl2.exe error or just restarts or shuts down entirely. Ive tried everything... is my power supply enough or could it be low enough making my computer unstable?
__________________

geoffn04 is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 05:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

You should get one that has at least 22 amps on the 12v.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 11:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Default

how do i know how many amps are on the 12V?
geoffn04 is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 11:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Look on the sid of the power supply. There should be chart with the voltage and then below it it will tell you how many amps that rail will carry.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 04:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_sup....php?cmd=INTEL

This is just a rough, ideal calculation - your system probably won't use close to whatever the end result comes out to. If you want to do anything serious with that system, I suggest getting a quality power supply, preferrably with a carriage of at least 25A on the +12V rail and 30A on the +5V rail.

P.S. NVIDIA initially recommended 480 watts for the GeForce 6800 Ultra line (though the GT consumes significantly less)..... you still want to look no less than 430-450 to be on the safe side.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 05:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Default

the estimate came out to 305 watts, i have a 330 so i guess my problem must have to do with something else.. why would you suggest no less than 430-450? i overclock the video card but i still get crashes even when ive tuned it back to factory settings.
geoffn04 is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 05:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Like what was mentioned before, output power is only part of the equation; you should check the amount of current flowing through each rail (which as mentioned above can be done by looking at the PSU label)....... many people fail to look at this issue when buying cheap power supplies.

Also, it is preferrable to monitor your CPU temperatures (and if at all possible, your graphics card temperatures) to make sure that they are operating within the specified thresholds........ if your motherboard manufacturer doesn't have such a tool available, you can use Motherboard Monitor.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 01:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Default

alright i found it, i have 16 amps on the +12V rail and 35 on the +5 rail

i also noticed in the bios my cpu temp is really high, 77-80C at idle but the ambient was around 35C which should be fine
geoffn04 is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 02:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

77-80C idle is NOT good, since the max. operating specifications for P4s are usually between 66-78C. Personally I would invest in a better cooling solution ASAP (either you need to clean out your heatsink/fan or there's an airflow problem your case).
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 05:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Default

alright ill do something about the heat, the fan doesnt seem to sound very loud though when i play games, i thought itd start making a lot of noise going at a high rpm to cool it down

what about the amps on the 12v rail, is 16 causing me problems?
__________________

geoffn04 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.