Power to the SATA - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2005, 05:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Default Power to the SATA

Why oh why do they put two types of power socket onto Western Digital HDD's. That's right, I've just connected the molex and sata power up together and guess what, HDD is not responding on boot!! I don't think it's even spinning!!

I have read that it may be possible to swap over the controller circuit board from an identical drive....this would be a lot cheaper than sending the drive for data recovery. Has anyone ever done this succesfully? If so was it easy enough?

I suppose the lesson to be learnt (yet again) is don't fiddle inside the box with a couple of beers inside ya!
__________________

ricardogonzalez is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 11:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Have now removed the pcb and sure enough theres a couple of blackened components and some melted insulation!!
__________________

ricardogonzalez is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 01:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

I'm not sure if yer suggested fix is feasible, but I guess it's worth a shot.

But I have to ask, having known that both cords were power, did it not dawn on you that plugging them both in might cause a problem?
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 01:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Please refer to my last paragraph.....trouble is the sata power connector was from a adapter from molex to sata and was sticking into the body of my tower so I connected that up, then I saw the empty molex socket on the back of the drive and so I bunged a connector in there too!!

First sign of trouble was when I switched the thing on and nothing happened...then I realised!!

Silly me!
ricardogonzalez is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 05:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

this is why they have instructions with these things.

you make it sound like you just had installed the drive, was it already filled with necessary information or something
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 07:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Send a message via AIM to Rouen
Default

There is a warning on every SATA drive i've ever bought. "Do not connect the SATA and Legacy power connectors at the same time."
If you didn't blow it up already, disconnect one and you should be ok.
__________________

__________________
"Just because I'm sitting between you idiots doesn't mean I want to go skiing!"
_____________________
Network+ Certified
Rouen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.