Power/Reset Wires - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2006, 09:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default Power/Reset Wires

I have an ECS KN1 SLI Lite Motherboard.

I am wondering, since it does not have any labels or writing for the panel where you plug in the power and reset wires,, where to plug in the wires for the power, reset and led. I dont know much about this, so I dont know if its common or rare.

If anyone knows and gives me advice, dont feel offended win i dont reply: I have to go rite now. I will only be able to check it in the morning.

basically if anyone can help id appreciate it, but if not maybe tell me somewhere else I can find out.

Number 1 Indian is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 10:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
brinks's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144

You plug those in near the bottom right part of the motherboard. It's a series of small pins grouped together.

If the motherboard doesn't lable the connectors, then you should look up pins in the manual.

brinks is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 11:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4

Okay, thanks. I found it in the manual in a different section.

Now I have another problem: I know where to put each one, but dont know the polarity.

There is a red/white, an orange/white, and a blue/white. Is the white always poitive, or always negative or somehting?
Number 1 Indian is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 01:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351

on the plastic socket on the tip of the wires theres usualy a small arrow on one side, that is the positive
E6300 Core 2 Duo
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 02:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4

Thanks you so much. I have been waiting for someone to give me simple info on stuff. I dont know why, but my case (XION) doesn't document ANYTHING.
Number 1 Indian is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.