Power question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2007, 01:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Default Power question

Hello All,

Setting up a E6600 on a Gigabyte motherboard using an Antec truepower trio 550watt PSU. (using onboard video and audio, only 1 DVD drive, 2x512MB Corsair DDR2 Ram) When I powered up the system it booted up, and I went into BIOS and I noticed the CPU temp was rising FAST. It was hooked up but not spinning. I gave it a flick and it started spinning very slowly. Actually, I'm running in an Antec 900 case and all the fans seem to be VERY slow, even if I turn them up. Is this a faulty power supply? I unhooked the 4 pin and 24 pin connector and reconnected them, same thing. This isn't my PC, just throwing it together for a friend but I've never seen anything like this before. I'd say even the DVD rom drives open slower but they are lite-on drives and I think I read some of them were slow.

Any ideas?

Installing windows XP now. I set the shut off temp to 60c just in case...

While installing OS I did open up the side panel and aimed a big fan into the case
__________________

Shafra is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 01:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default

wow 60c, you really need to get that fixed. I am gussing that the power supply is just above the bare minimum, you might want to consider getting a better supply.

btw: you might want to checkyour 24 pin connectors.
__________________

rpgdude is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 01:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Default

It's not running at 60c, I just set it at that shut off temp to be safe. Actually, until XP finishes the install I don't know what the temperature is at.

I'd think the 550watt Truepower trio would be plenty to run this system. I even asked about it here in the forums and most people said it would be fine.

What exactly did I need to check on the 24 pin connector?
Shafra is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.