Power problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2010, 02:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posts: 15
Default Power problems

hey all, how you all doing, this is my first post,

Ok here goes my question, i'm a bit stuck...

My daughters pc just wouldn't shutdown the other day, so eventually i just pulled the plug,

now when you boot it up CPU fan goes, so motherboard is getting power HD lights don't come on and machine doesn't boot...

What would you say is the problem?

PSU or Motherboard shot?
__________________

confused_again is offline  
Old 09-08-2010, 10:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Power problems

I would first blame the PSU. For the reason that it is not starting up. Pulling the plug might have been the cause. I have seen this problem many times.

The reason why it won't shut down, my guess is a program crashed. Therefore it could not end it.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-09-2010, 03:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posts: 15
Default Re: Power problems

Thanks for the reply, i stuck the PSU into my machine and it booted up, so i'm thinking it could be the mobo, also i take the ram out boot it up and no warning beeps...
confused_again is offline  
Old 09-09-2010, 10:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Power problems

Do you have a speaker on it? That might be why you hear no beeps.

Try running on essentials, only PSU power, gfx card, and RAM. See if it changes anything.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 08:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posts: 15
Default Re: Power problems

hi no no speakers were connected
confused_again is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 09:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Power problems

That will be your problem of no beeps.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 10:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Power problems

Some motherboards will send beep codes through external speakers, but most, need to have an internal speaker hooked upto a set of pins on the motherboard.

To make sure, take the board to just the board, and CPU, along with the PSU, see if it powers up properly, and if you get beep codes, if nothing then either the CPU is dead, or the motherboard is shot, could be both.

If you get beep codes, throw some ram at it, and see how it responds, and slowly add parts back to it, also, look at the capacitors to see if the tops of them have bowed out any.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 10:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sunny South Africa
Posts: 15
Default

Ok will give that a try, always fun when you left in the dark,

Daughter is like"Dad is this going to take long" ...lol

p.s should i diconnected all cables too, i.e. ide?
confused_again is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 11:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Power problems

Yea, disconnect everything but the processor/heatsink/fan and see if you get beep codes, if you do, put your ram in, btw, if it has an integrated GPU, go ahead and hook the monitor up.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 11:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Power problems

You need ram in it too.

Does the power supply have a switch on the back? if so first make sure its on, then flick it off and on.

Oh, and next time you don't shutdowsn, try holding the power button. It should safely shut off the power.

And thirdly, welcome to th forum.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power problems. joujou Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 06-28-2010 01:04 PM
Power Problems dagger576 System Upgrades 8 02-06-2010 11:40 AM
power problems xbox122501 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-19-2008 05:53 PM
Power Problems BlazerWill System Upgrades 4 08-31-2006 07:58 AM
Power problems? mtslegacy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 04-13-2005 07:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.