Power on problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2006, 08:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 34
Default Power on problems

Hey, This one's got me all confused.

Asus 95AD2 Premium
Intel P4 Prescott 3.6Ghz
Ultra DDR2 1 Gb
Antec NeoPower PSU

Had my computer running fine at home, has been running well for a while now. Shut down windows like normal, Turned off the PSU switch, Unplugged everything. Moved back to Columbus, plugged everything in, turned on the power strip, turned on the power supply, but when I hit the power button, it won't start.

The green power LED on the motherboard lights up, LED's on the keyboard light, but no boot, not even a jump in the system fans. and all my roommate's computers work.

I tried 5 or 6 different outlets throughout the house, tried a different power cord, disconnected all fans HDD's, CDRom's etc, then tried a different (working) PSU, nothing with any of those either, No strong burnt component smells, independently connected the power switch pins bypassing the actual switch still nothing.

The only thing i've noticed in the past was when i would completely cut power, it would take 2 pushes of the button to boot, but it was always consistant.

Any Ideas Are Appreciated

osubuckeyes is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 08:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 164

Sounds like you need to check each component individually, though from what you've said it sounds like the MB is gone =/ hope thats not the case

AMD Athlon 64 3700 (San Diego)
MSI K8N Neo4-F
Corsair 2GB (2x1GB)
GeForce 7900 GT
Maxtor 120GB 7200RPM Ultra-ATA/133
Western Digital Caviar SE 320GB 7200RPM ATA/100
Onboard Realtek AC\'97 Audio Controller
Oh and btw I\'m a Tennis SuperStar!!
jjrodezno is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 11:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692

ok. wat psu u have? for psu, wen u disconnect the power cord for 24hour. the psu gets drained of its power in the capacitor(however ur spell it) so wen u press the power botton u gotta give it some time before it actually starts up. maybe wait like 30 mins.
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.