Power problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2006, 12:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default Power problems

hi.

i just recently moved my computer into a new case and well, now when i start my computer it doesnt turn on, well my fan LEDs, power LEDs, fans, and cold cathode all start up for a split second then turn right off.

but when i flip the switch on the back of the psu to off (after 5 seconds i also hear a sound from my speakers going off) then on, then press the front power switch, it works, but when i turn off my computer and it is left off for a while, the same thing happens again, i have to swich it off...wait 5secs...switch on...power on switch. i just need to know why i have to keep doing this, and if there is any way to stop it. btw i have a 480w psu.

ty in advance
__________________

redxdeath is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 12:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

u got the specs on it? like 3.3 v 15a, etc...? also who made it, what model, and how old is it
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 01:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default

hmm well i dont know about the volts or anything like that but, the psu i bought was about a month ago: Logisys 480W

also my motherboard specs: ASUS Amberine M (A8AE-LE)
redxdeath is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 05:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

hmmm i've seen this issue many times but always seem to forget the cause and solution. if you search the forums you may find one of the threads i have seen before. for now you could try resetting CMOS using the instructions in the thread at the top of this forum section ("How to reset your BIOS" if i remember the title correctly)
Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.