Power issues after installing wrong cpu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2009, 11:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Power issues after installing wrong cpu

So I decided a while ago that I wanted to start building and messing around with computers. I upgraded my video card in my HP Pavilion a752n to a ATI HD 4850 and put in 2 gigs of Crucial ram. This was really all I needed at the time since all I was playing was World of Warcraft, which is the opposite of a demanding game.

I recently decided I wanted to do all of my gaming on pc and wanted to build a good gaming computer. I ordered an Intel core 2 duo e8400 and 2 more gigs of Crucial ram. Now I'm waiting on my tax return to buy all of the other components, but I wanted to see how the new processor worked in my current computer for a preview.

I made the huge mistake of not researching the compatibility of my a752n's motherboard with my new e8400. I installed the new processor and fired her up and got nothing. The fan was spinning on the cpu and something sounded like it was running, but none of the power lights were on except for the very small one on the front which is under what looks like a battery symbol. That light was a steady orange. This morning I put the old cpu and fan back in and I got the same issue.

When it first fired up and I got nothing after I put the new cpu/fan in I figured it was just a compatibility issue. Now that this is happening with the old cpu/fan back in, I'm not sure of what to do. I don't know if it's that easy to fry a power supply or what. The power supply is only 430 watts. I have a general understanding of the components and what to do, but I'm still going to be making some stupid mistakes like this so any help on the matter would be much appreciated.

Antec Ea-430 430 Watts
Asus PTGD1-LA LGA 775
2 Gigs Crucial 184 Pin-DIMM
ATI HD 4850
Intel Pentium 4 3.8 GHz

Thanks in advance,

Chris
__________________

k20invictus87 is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 11:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: Power issues after installing wrong cpu

Try resetting your CMOS on your motherboard, the directions should be in the manual. I really don't thing what you did would kill the power supply, but this is an odd problem.
__________________

__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 11:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Power issues after installing wrong cpu

Thanks for the tip. I tried resetting by the three pin jumper. I turned the power off in the back, moved the piece holding the first two pins into a position holding the 2nd and 3rd pins, hit the power button once, waited a minute, then put it back in its originial location and turned the computer on. I got the same result as before. I'm trying to located the actual battery so I can take that out for five minutes. I'm assuming it's like a watch battery but I'm not sure where it's location is.

Thanks again for the help,

Chris
k20invictus87 is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 11:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: Power issues after installing wrong cpu

Yeah you need to take out that battery. If you try this and it still doesn't work, try this even though it sounds stupid. Unplug the power cable from your power supply, and let your computer sit there for an hour. Then plug it back and see what happens (this actually has worked for me a few times).
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 12:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Power issues after installing wrong cpu

I'll give those a shot and report back when I'm off work (forgot I had to work at 12:30).

Thanks again,

Chris
k20invictus87 is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 05:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Power issues after installing wrong cpu

There is a feature - and I forget what it is referred to - that sometimes if the voltage isnt right to the CPU, it will trip the PSU so it doesnt fry it (the CPU). Saw that on a PSU tutorial website somewhere. So maybe the CPU is saying, dont fry me, man ! to the PSU. Just my 2 centivos.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 12:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Power issues after installing wrong cpu

I've tried leaving it unplugged from the machine for an hour, as well as trying to jump it with the three pins and the piece that holds two of them at a time. I also took the battery out for five minutes and I still get the same result. I was planning on piecing my system together anyway, so I think I'm gonna go ahead and order everything else I need since this isn't working out .

Chris
__________________

k20invictus87 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer without CPU fan? lazycat Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-28-2008 12:01 AM
Installing 4850 HD brings both cpu and gpu to 100% phaux Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-24-2008 12:43 AM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Something Seriously Wrong With My CPU! Raziel-Zero Overclocking and Modding 12 10-08-2007 12:45 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.