Power Connectors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2009, 05:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Power Connectors

My parts arrived today and everything is going pretty good. Except they sent the wrong heat-sink so that didn't fit on, put the stock one on for now.

Pretty sure I've got everything connected properly but I've run into some conflicting directions. My mother board's manual says that I have to connect the 24 pin and 4 pin power cords before turning it on. But the power supply instructions say its one or the other, cause it only came with one 20+4 pin connector.

Also is it fine if I use a pci-e 6 pin connector from the power supply instead of the 4 pin to 6 pin adapter from the mobo 4 pin that my 4850 came with? Direct from the psu just allows be to not have a couple wires running over top of the mobo. Just for looks mostly either way is fine with me.

Thanks
Ryan
__________________

dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 06:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Power Connectors

what psu do you have? It should have a 24 (20+4) and an additional 12v 4pin as well.

__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 06:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: Power Connectors

Newegg.ca - CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies this one.

I might have just missed it cause there's a lot of cords. I'll look again, thank for the picture.
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 06:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Power Connectors

oh yeah you have one. It is actually a 4+4 12volt plug that can be used as a 4 or 8 pin plug.



It is the one highest up. I know I have the same psu.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 06:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: Power Connectors

Oh ok thats why I never noticed it. Sort of low light and its hard to see the seems . Thanks for the help.

Edit: And what about the gpu power? Does it matter where it gets it from, the motherboard or the psu?
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 06:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Power Connectors

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirkpitt45 View Post
Edit: And what about the gpu power? Does it matter where it gets it from, the motherboard or the psu?
If your GPU has a power socket(s), then the PSU.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 06:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Power Connectors

if you have any higher end PSU then it will require at least 1 6pin.

what gpu do you have?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 06:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: Power Connectors

The XFX 4850 1gb version. My mobo instructions said to use this 4pin connector that was on the mobo. The card is a 6 pin with 1 empty hole/slot. Newegg.ca - XFX HD-485X-ZDFC Radeon HD 4850 1GB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 07:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Power Connectors

Yep just one of your 6 pin connectors for that card.

It needs the 6pin from your psu to work. Your psu has four 6+2 pin pci-e plugs shown in the pic above.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 07:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: Power Connectors

Ok just making sure Sorry if these are noob questions, just don't want to screw anything up. After I twist tie some of those extra cords I think I'll be ready to test and see if it'll turn on.
__________________

dirkpitt45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
Should I look into getting a new power supply? Patiszerg Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 04-06-2009 02:16 PM
I want a new video card. Silverfury New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-09-2008 01:05 AM
Power supply issues - Dell inspiron 531 Yuffles System Upgrades 16 02-17-2008 03:59 PM
Power Supply Time! Eaglez New Systems | Building and Buying 15 01-05-2008 03:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.