Power on, but no display. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2014, 03:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Texas,US
Posts: 2
Question Power on, but no display.

Hello I'm new to the forum so I hope im not breaking any rules here. Anyway, yesterday my desktop was acting weird so i restarted my pc. My pc would turn on all the lights, fans, and the light of the mouse but no display on the monitor. I tried disconnecting the gpu and put it back again but nothing. It can not be my monitor because the little window that says "No input available for VGA" something like that. In fact I'm writing this with my computer as it turned on after I pushed the power button several times. But I wish to know why this happens as im sure my pc won't turn on back again if i shut it down right now, or at least it would take about 20 mins to get it back on. Any one know what the issure might be? Thanks in advance
__________________

monkeeyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 08:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Texas,US
Posts: 2
Default Re: Power on, but no display.

Anyone?
__________________

monkeeyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 08:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Power on, but no display.

Sort of vague as far as what it could be. My wife's PC had its video card crap out on it. It would boot but had no image. I removed the GPU and tried onboard, nada. Tried another card, nothing. Finally I thought and pulled the CMOS battery then tried another card and got it back up. Note that this was over a month and a half as I thought the motherboard had crapped out.

If you have another video card, or if your motherboard has onboard graphics, try unplugging the power to your PC and pulling the CMOS battery. Pop it back in, hook up the alternative video source, and try it out.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 10:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Power on, but no display.

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeeyo View Post
Hello I'm new to the forum so I hope im not breaking any rules here. Anyway, yesterday my desktop was acting weird so i restarted my pc. My pc would turn on all the lights, fans, and the light of the mouse but no display on the monitor. I tried disconnecting the gpu and put it back again but nothing. It can not be my monitor because the little window that says "No input available for VGA" something like that. In fact I'm writing this with my computer as it turned on after I pushed the power button several times. But I wish to know why this happens as im sure my pc won't turn on back again if i shut it down right now, or at least it would take about 20 mins to get it back on. Any one know what the issure might be? Thanks in advance
For starters tell us the basic info about your computer.
Is prebuilt or custom built, what kind of cpu/mobo do you have and what brand names is it by chance ?
Based on what your describing it sounds like one of the profile setups in your bios may have gone wonky and crashed out.
I had that happen to me on intel 1156 1155 and amd am3/am3+ and the Fm series.
Power down your machine and remove the jumper near cmos battery.
Put it on the right or left side of the 3 pin jumper switch off the psu.
Wait about 10 minutes and switch on the psu button on the unit.
Put the jumper back in its original place and turn on the computer.
It should boot back up fully, please take note if your keyboard is plugged.
It will blink 3 times and turn on the number lock.
Thats a good sign to show the mobo is active and is able to use your vga onboard or graphics card.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My tower appears is getting power but I have no display. RayleighScattering Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 09-01-2013 09:12 PM
Power+Fans+Lights but NO DISPLAY Merkwürdigeliebe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-13-2011 10:34 AM
Cannot get a display, cannot fix display issue with no display Rgortiz3 Microsoft Windows and Software 12 06-15-2009 06:34 PM
LCD Display takes long time to display picture upon startup Drewser Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-11-2007 06:50 PM
Very Dim Display on Dell smartstep 250N laptop: lcd display or backlight? amillindsay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-09-2005 10:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.