Post Boot / slow install - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2005, 09:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 303
Default Post Boot / slow install

So, once again I have found a frankensteiner to play with. Here's whats happening.


Post boot shows the Primary Devices, however takes a very very long time to show them. When it eventually shows my HDD (Master) and my CDROM (secondary slave/master) it just sits there for a couple minutes before loading.

There is currently no OS installed, as I am trying to load up Mandrake 10 on it.

It eventually boots from the CD and I begin install, however even that seems extremly slow. I left it over night and it was still going!

What would be causing everything to be slower than a Tandy 1000!!?
__________________

eipeks is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 09:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

to much heat?

bad ram?
__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 09:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

What are the system specs?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 11:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 303
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Juice Daddy
to much heat?

bad ram?
I dont think its overheating. The Temp in the BIOS seems normal. I have also used different RAM in it, and the same things happens.

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN

What are the system specs?
It is an

A7V8X-MX SE Mobo
AMD Duron 750
256 DDR PC2700
8 GiG WD HDD
Samsung DVD/CDRW


Like I say, its a frankenstein but I'd like to get it going if I could.
eipeks is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 12:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

could the hard drive be slow or dying?
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 01:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 303
Default

Nope. I've tried 3 HDDs

Even a new Seagate. All the same result.

My only other thought...power supply? Sometimes when I hit the power button, the fans turn on as normal but shut off quickly.... Pauses for 2 seconds....then begins start up.

Of course, always pausing at the Device detection.

Ive tried different IDE cables too.
eipeks is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 01:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

does it look like any of the drives are trying to read while it's booting?

I don't think it's your processor, you already said you checked the temps, and the rams ok...?

so its not the hard drive either,,?

so I guess that leaves the PSU or the Mainboard

btw, do you have something hooked up in a pci slot, like a modem or something?

EDIT: how well does it boot with nothing pluged in? (HD, CD, pci cards, etc...)
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 02:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Default

well sounds like you ned to disassemble everything and plug everything in one by one..definately sounds like something on the mobo..let us know how that works out for you
__________________

fastvw2003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.